When is the best time to sell your property?

Your life circumstances have changed and you are toying with the idea of selling your property. However, you are still waiting for the right moment. But when is that, exactly?

The personal reasons for the owner to sell up play the biggest role in finding the right moment. These can be many and varied. However, in most instances, people move because of work, a divorce, a new addition to the family, old age, or an inheritance. In the majority of cases, the reason also determines how quickly the owner wishes to sell.

Personal reasons influence the time of the sale

When selling due a new addition to the family or in order to downsize, the owner often takes their time in finding a new home. In cases of divorce, however, the owner is often keen to sell up as quickly as possible.

Things are different when the property serves as an investment. Once the statute of limitations for capital gains has passed (‘Spekulationsfrist’), many investors feel the time has come to sell the property. If you have purchased a property but do not reside in it yourself, you should wait 10 years before selling it, as you must otherwise pay tax on any profit you make. However, an owner who lived in the property themselves in the two years preceding the sale is not affected by the state of limitations on capital gains.

Knowing the economic conditions of the market

Above all else, anyone toying with the idea of selling their property should know the economic conditions of the market. Exceptionally low interest rates and an economic upswing all make for an ideal time to sell your property. This is when demand is great and potential buyers are prepared to invest. The property’s location can also be crucial in deciding when to sell. For example, if it is located in a city district that is currently becoming trendy, the price also increases automatically.

Even though it may not feel that way, the time of year has absolutely no effect on property sales. However, it is a good idea to take the pictures for the exposé in summer or spring. A professional estate agent will help you to create the perfect exposé.

 

Sie spielen mit dem Gedanken Ihre Immobilie zu verkaufen?  Kontaktieren Sie uns?  Wir beraten Sie gern.

 

Additional information can be found here:

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Immobilie

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Immobilienmarkt

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bodenrichtwert

 

Legal note: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please have the facts of your specific individual case clarified by a lawyer and/or tax advisor.

 

Photo: © thomaslenne/Depositphotos.com

 

 

 

 

APPRAISE YOUR PROPERTY NOW

Free of charge and without obligation

Why you need a professional exposé

An effective exposé helps you not only obtain a better price for your property but also appeal to the right target group and thus save yourself the hassle of unnecessary viewings. […]

Read more

Kinder, Küche, Kaufvertrag? – Besser mit Profi-Makler verkaufen

Auf den Spielplatz gehen, das Baby wickeln, Essen kochen, aufräumen, die Kinder ins Bett bringen und danach noch schnell das Haus verkaufen? Wer sich das zutraut, verdient alle Achtung – aber trotzdem ist es keine […]

Read more

Life annuity: a home to live in AND financial freedom

When struggling to get by on their pension, many seniors consider selling their own home and moving into a smaller, more age-appropriate property. Yet many struggle to part with their home,

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Mathilde Allemand

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com
Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Isabelle Goncalves

Isabelle Goncalves

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office Paris

Managing Director

French, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

French, English, German +49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Managing Director

French, German, English +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-immo.com

Cihan Selmo

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Turkish +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Alice Thion

Alice Thion

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Rental Manager

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 alice.thion@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Spanish +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com