Tenants and owners: two different forms of housing, two unequal groups

Housing is a social issue. Pekka Sagner, economist for housing policy and property economics at the German Economic Institute, has analysed the difference between tenants and owners, the effects of the housing market and the different benefits and drawbacks associated with these two forms of housing.

The key findings of the study are as follows: since 2005, the prices in all cities and districts have risen by an average 75.3 per cent. The average cost of a property is EUR 354,000 – the equivalent of around 7.4 times the average annual household income. For this sum, buyers receive an average of 132 square metres of living space; however, in every major city, it is less than 100 square metres, and in the medium-sized cities of western Germany, it is 142 square metres.

Forty-nine per cent of Germany’s population owns property. The proportion increases the greater the income and the smaller the respective place of residence is. The number of home-owners has been stagnant for nearly a decade. Germany is at the very bottom of the European league table when it comes to the number of homeowners.

The percentage of people who are very satisfied with their living situation is almost three times higher amongst homeowners than amongst tenants. Half of all tenants would limit their spending to a great or very great degree in order to buy their own home. One in four tenants under the age of 50 wishes to buy or build their own home even in uncertain times. However, the number of people planning to buy or build is decreasing.

The percentage of tenants under the age of 50 who wish to buy their own home has dropped from 31 per cent in 2019 to 24 per cent in 2021. Low interest rates continue to be a great motivating factor when buying property. On an investment sum of EUR 354,000, buyers have to pay EUR 133,000 less in interest than was the case 13 years ago.

For just under one-third of the population, the opportunity to decorate and furnish their home as they desire plays a key role in buying their own home. Retirement planning is also an important motive for purchasing.

Legal note: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please have the facts of your specific individual case clarified by a lawyer and/or tax advisor.

Photo: © Christoffer Borg Mattisson, Pixabay

APPRAISE YOUR PROPERTY NOW

Free of charge and without obligation

The future is home working

We cannot yet predict with any certainty which of the changes wrought by the pandemic will remain once it recedes from our everyday lives. One thing that is certain, however, it that working from home has fundamentally changed
the world of work as well as the way we live. Owing to the stricter pandemic regulations in May 2021, the number of people working from home increased further.

Read more

Property price trends in Berlin

Both sellers and buyers want to know how one of their largest investments will develop. However, answering this question is extremely difficult. In recent years, experts were usually in agreement with regard to property price development. All prognoses invariably predicted growth. Since 2021, this has changed…

Read more

ADEN's Instagram/Facebook Contest 2022

Here are all the rules and regulations for the ADEN Contest, which will run from December 1, 2022 to December 22, 2022 on Instagram and Facebook.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Mathilde Allemand

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com
Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Isabelle Goncalves

Isabelle Goncalves

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office Paris

Managing Director

French, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Managing Director

French, German, English +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-immo.com

Cihan Selmo

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Turkish +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Alice Thion

Alice Thion

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Rental Manager

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 alice.thion@aden-immo.com
Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Spanish +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com