Property ownership: different countries, different customs

The German housing market has been a hot topic of discussion for several years now. People are frustrated by, and even outraged at, the high prices and rents. For policy-makers, housing has become the social issue of our time. How do other countries deal with this? Can Germany learn from its neighbours? The German Economic Institute in Cologne went in search of answers to this question. It examined the ways in which seven different European countries help their citizens onto the property ladder. Alongside attitudes to property ownership, the Institute also analysed how these countries deal with property transfer tax, how they handle the taxation of owner-occupied property and what kind of funding support is available.

In terms of property transfer tax, the examined countries take two different approaches. Especially the Scandinavian countries as well as Ireland and the Netherlands have particularly low rates of property transfer taxation. Although Great Britain, Belgium and France have somewhat higher rates, they take a sliding-scale approach, support first-time property buyers, offer tax allowances or use a progressive tariff. A tax allowance and progressive tariff on property transfer tax provides financial relief to householders buying small and low-cost homes.

In Germany, owner-occupied property is taxed in the same way as consumer goods, whereas rented property is treated as an investment asset. This puts many owner-occupied households at a disadvantage. In the Netherlands, Sweden and Denmark, owner-occupiers can claim tax relief on their interest charges. Germany should therefore redress the balance for owner-occupied households to prevent them being at a disadvantage compared to buy-to-let owners. The countries included in the analysis also offer low-interest-rate mortgages or loan-insurance policies to support households in funding their property purchases.

In neighbouring countries, home ownership is regarded as the epitome of social advancement. It plays an important role in personal wealth creation and helps prevent old-age poverty.

Legal note: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please have the facts of your specific individual case clarified by a lawyer and/or tax advisor.

Photo: © Michael van der Vegt, Pixabay

APPRAISE YOUR PROPERTY NOW

Free of charge and without obligation

Price developments during the pandemic

In the final months of the year and at the start of the pandemic in particular, the price developments in 2020 were of the utmost significance to all stakeholders. The analyses show a clear, positive development in Berlin, but also Germany as a whole. Please follow the link to read about the effect of the pandemic on property prices.

Read more

Airbnb verdict on the Repurposing Act

Since 2014, the so-called Repurposing Act (Zweckentfremdungsgesetz) has been in force in Berlin. The aim of this legislation is to ensure that apartments are used for standard tenancies only. This is to prevent apartments from being withdrawn from the conventional rental accommodation market and to make it easier for tenants to find housing.

Read more

Ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied properties

In implementation of the coalition agreement, the ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied properties is now being redrafted. The first draft raised many questions and was roundly criticised. Many owners of apartment buildings are now understandably worried that they are no longer free to do with their property as they see fit. Dividing their property up into owner-occupied apartments will only be possible subject to restrictions.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Mathilde Allemand

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com
Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Isabelle Goncalves

Isabelle Goncalves

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office Paris

Managing Director

French, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

French, English, German +49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Managing Director

French, German, English +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-immo.com

Cihan Selmo

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Turkish +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Alice Thion

Alice Thion

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Rental Manager

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 alice.thion@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Spanish +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com

Immobilieneigentum: Andere Länder, andere Sitten

Der deutsche Wohnungsmarkt ist seit einigen Jahren in den Mittelpunkt von Diskussionen gerückt. Hohe Preise und Mieten sind der Anlass für Aufregung oder gar Empörung. Für die Politik ist Wohnen zur sozialen Frage unserer Zeit geworden. Wie machen es die anderen? Kann Deutschland von seinen Nachbarn lernen? Diese Frage stellte sich das Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft in Köln. Es hat untersucht, wie sieben europäische Länder den Zugang zu Wohneigentum gestalten. Neben der Haltung zu Wohneigentum wurde analysiert, wie die Grunderwerbsteuer gestaltet ist, wie das selbst genutzte Wohneigentum steuerlich behandelt wird und welche Unterstützungen es bei der Finanzierung gibt.

Bei der Gestaltung der Grunderwerbsteuer beschreiten die betrachteten Länder zwei Wege. Vor allem die skandinavischen Länder sowie Irland und die Niederlande haben sehr niedrige Grunderwerbsteuersätze. Großbritannien, Belgien oder Frankreich haben zwar etwas höhere Sätze, differenzieren aber, unterstützen Ersterwerber von Immobilieneigentum, nutzen Freibeträge oder einen Stufentarif. Ein Freibetrag und ein Stufentarif bei der Grunderwerbsteuer entlastet die Haushalte, die kleine und günstige Wohnungen kaufen.

Steuerlich wird selbst genutztes Wohneigentum in Deutschland wie ein Konsumgut behandelt, vermietetes Wohneigentum dagegen wie ein Investitionsgut. Dies ist für viele selbst nutzende Haushalte ein Nachteil. In den Niederlanden, Schweden und Dänemark können Selbstnutzerinnen und Selbstnutzer ihre Zinskosten steuerlich geltend machen. Deutschland sollte den Haushalten im Eigentum dafür einen Ausgleich gewähren, um eine Benachteiligung gegenüber Anlegerinnen und Anlegern zu vermeiden. Die betrachteten Länder unterstützen zudem die Haushalte bei der Finanzierung über günstige Kredite oder Kreditversicherungen.

Wohneigentum wird in den Nachbarländern als Inbegriff des sozialen Aufstiegs verstanden. Es spielt für die individuelle Vermögensbildung eine wichtige Rolle und trägt dazu bei, Altersarmut zu vermeiden.

Rechtlicher Hinweis: Dieser Beitrag stellt keine Steuer- oder Rechtsberatung im Einzelfall dar. Bitte lassen Sie die Sachverhalte in Ihrem konkreten Einzelfall von einem Rechtsanwalt und/oder Steuerberater klären.

Foto: © Michael van der Vegt, Pixabay

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

Eine Wohnung in Berlin zur Miete finden

Berlin ist eine attraktive Stadt mit hoher Lebensqualität. ADEN IMMOBILIEN bietet viele Mietmöglichkeiten – von Single-Apartments bis zu großen Familienwohnungen. Wie können Sie sich also darauf vorbereiten, eine Wohnung in Berlin zur Miete zu finden? ADEN IMMOBILIEN gibt Ihnen einige Tipps, wie Sie nach Wohnungen suchen, Dokumente vorbereiten und mit dem Vermieter in Kontakt treten können.

Weiterlesen

Welche gesetzlichen Regelungen bzw. Pläne gibt es für den Immobilienmarkt 2022?

Im Folgenden finden Sie eine kleine Auswahl an gesetzlichen Änderungen, die bereits in Kraft getreten sind oder 2022 in Kraft treten werden. Hinzu kommen die Regelungen und Pläne der Berliner Landesregierung als auch der Bundesregierung. …

Weiterlesen

AirBnB-Urteil zum Zweckentfremdungsgesetz

Seit 2014 gibt es in Berlin das sogenannte Zweckentfremdungsgesetz. Ziel des Gesetzes ist es, den Gebrauch von Wohnungen nur im Rahmen einer gewöhnlichen Wohnungsnutzung zu gewährleisten. Damit soll verhindert werden, dass Wohnungen dem normalen Mietmarkt entzogen werden und Mieter leichter eine Wohnung finden.

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Mathilde Allemand

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Büro Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com
Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Isabelle Goncalves

Isabelle Goncalves

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienmaklerin

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Büro Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmaklerin

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienberater

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Büro Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

Französisch, Englisch, Deutsch +49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Geschäftsführer

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-immo.com

Cihan Selmo

Büro Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

Deutsch, Englisch, Türkisch +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Büro Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Alice Thion

Alice Thion

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Vermietungsmanagerin

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 887 024 07 alice.thion@aden-immo.com
Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Büro Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmaklerin

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com