Living space (‘Wohnfläche’) and floor space (‘Nutzfläche’) – which rooms fall under which category?

People often wonder which areas of a property are classed as living space. This distinction is important, not least when it comes to determining the purchase price or rental price. This information makes the lives of estate agents easier and helps property owners more effectively protect themselves against legal disputes over wrongly calculated living-space or floor-space data.

In general, a property’s living space can be calculated using various legal principles. However, the legislator has clearly set out what is classed as living space. This above all depends on when the calculation was carried out. The living space of houses and apartments calculated before 1 January 2004 is not based on the the Wohnflächenverordnung which came into force on 18 January 2004. In addition to this, living space is also often calculated on the basis of the DIN 277 standard.

However, this is used to calculate the floor space rather than the actual living space, which inflates the purchase price and rental price. The living space ordinances published before and after 2004 stipulate what is actually included in the living space. Owners who base their living-space calculations on the DIN 277 standard are at a disadvantage if taken to court. This is because, in the event of legal disputes, the verdict is based on the current WoFIV, which favours purchasers and tenants.

Which rooms make up the floor space?

A property’s floor space is defined as all areas in the apartment or house that make up said property. Thus, the living space also forms part of the floor space. However, not all floor space is living space. This means that, when calculating just the living space, areas such as the cellar, garage or non-converted attics are excluded from the calculation.

In addition to these three areas that make up the floor space, one must also include any storage rooms situated outside the property. Balconies and conservatories are also 100% included in the floor space. Stairwells and boiler rooms are excluded, however.

Which rooms make up the living space?

The living space comprises any room which is inhabited. However, under certain circumstances, floor space can also become living space. For example, if a storage room is located inside the apartment or house, this is then classed as part of the living space. A similar principle applies with conservatories. If it is heated, a conservatory must also be included as living space. In this context, balconies are only included to a degree Things get complicated when it comes to rooms with sloping roofs. Anything below a room of one metre is not classed as living space (Lichthöhe). Exceptions also include properties with gardens which, under certain conditions, can be classed as living space. By contrast, there are no clear regulations for hobby rooms in the 2004 WoFIV.

Avoiding legal disputes

Purchasers and tenants who check the measurements or commission a surveyor to do so often arrive at different results than the owner in terms of the overall living space. In order to avoid a legal dispute, it is helpful to hire your own surveyor before selling your property. An estate agent will be able to put you in touch with a suitable surveyor and also provide you with detailed advice regarding living space and floor space. If you have found a potential buyer and are soon due to see the notary, the survey can be conducted and documented in the presence of all parties. This allows you to forestall any disputes. Property owners thereby avoid the danger of the property price being contested.

Do you have any further questions regarding your living space? Get in touch with us! We are happy to advise you.

 

Note

In this text, the generic masculine is used for better readability. Feminine and other gender identities are explicitly included to the extent necessary for the statement.

Disclaimer: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please consult a solicitor and/or accountant to clarify the circumstances of your specific case.

Photo: © alfexe/Depositphotos.com

APPRAISE YOUR PROPERTY NOW

Free of charge and without obligation

PropTech – digital innovations that also benefit private landlords

PropTech is short for ‘Property Technology’, i.e. digital technology for the property sector. The term is most commonly used in relation to start-ups developing digital products and services for every conceivable process within the property sector. […]

Read more

Emergency sale: what owners must consider

Difficult times call for difficult measures. Owners who find themselves in an emergency situation have the option of disposing of their property via compulsory auction or selling it as quickly as possible. An emergency sale is the better option, however. What must […]

Read more

Home office – how would an extra room suit you?

A printer, desk, files next to the bed or the sofa – living rooms and bedrooms are increasingly being repurposed as offices for home-working. Although digitalisation has certainly made working from home a lot easier, the necessary space is often lacking. Given the current market situation, however, how can one go about finding a bigger property?

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Mathilde Allemand

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com
Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Isabelle Goncalves

Isabelle Goncalves

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office Paris

Managing Director

French, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Managing Director

French, German, English +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-immo.com

Cihan Selmo

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Turkish +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Alice Thion

Alice Thion

Office Berlin Wilmersdorf

Rental Manager

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 alice.thion@aden-immo.com
Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Spanish +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com

Wohnfläche und Nutzfläche – welche Räume gehören wozu?

Nicht selten kommt bei Immobilien die Frage auf, was alles zur Wohnfläche zählt. Besonders wenn es um den Kauf- oder Mietpreis geht, ist diese Unterscheidung wichtig. Zum einen erleichtert dieses Wissen das Immobiliengeschäft. Zum anderen können Eigentümer Rechtsstreitigkeiten wegen einer falschen Wohn- und Nutzflächenberechnung besser entgegentreten.

Grundsätzlich kann die Wohnfläche einer Immobilie durch verschiedene gesetzliche Grundlagen ermittelt werden. Allerdings hat der Gesetzgeber klar geregelt, was zur Wohnfläche gehört. Das hängt vor allem davon ab, wann die Berechnung erfolgt ist. Die Wohnfläche von Häusern und Wohnungen, die vor dem 1. Januar 2004 berechnet wurde, bezieht sich nicht auf die seit dem 18. Januar 2004 in Kraft getretene Wohnflächenverordnung (WoFIV). Zudem kommt es oft vor, dass für die Wohnflächenberechnung die DIN 277 herangezogen wird.

Damit wird aber anstatt der tatsächlichen Wohn- die Nutzfläche ermittelt und somit der Kauf- und Mietpreis in die Höhe getrieben. Was tatsächlich zur Wohnfläche zählt, ist in den Wohnflächenverordnungen vor und ab 2004 festgeschrieben. Eigentümer, die auf Basis der DIN 277 die Wohnfläche ermitteln, haben vor Gericht Nachteile. Denn bei Rechtsstreitigkeiten basiert das Urteil zugunsten der Käufer und Mieter auf der gültigen WoFIV.

Welche Räume gehören zur Nutzfläche?

Unter der Nutzfläche eines Hauses versteht man alle Flächen, die in der Wohnung oder im Haus beansprucht werden. Auch die Wohnfläche zählt zur Nutzfläche. Aber nicht jede Nutzfläche ist eine Wohnfläche. Daher werden bei der reinen Wohnflächenberechnung Räumlichkeiten wie beispielsweise der Keller, die Garage oder der nicht ausgebaute Dachboden nicht berücksichtigt.

Zu den Nutzungsflächen gehören neben diesen drei Bereichen auch eine Abstellkammer, die außerhalb der Immobilie liegt. Auch der Balkon und der Wintergarten zählen zu 100 Prozent zu den Nutzflächen. Das Treppenhaus und der Heizungsraum allerdings nicht.

Welche Räume werden als Wohnfläche berechnet?

Zu den Wohnflächen gehören alle Räume, die bewohnt werden. Unter gewissen Umständen werden aber auch Nutzflächen zu Wohnflächen. Befindet sich beispielsweise die Abstellkammer in der Wohnung oder im Haus, ist das ein bewohnter Bereich. Beim Wintergarten verhält es sich ähnlich. Ist dieser beheizt, muss auch der Wintergarten zur Wohnflächenberechnung hinzugezogen werden. Der Balkon fließt dabei nur anteilig mit ein. Kompliziert wird es, wenn es um Räume mit Dachschrägen geht. Alles unterhalb von einem Meter ist keine Wohnfläche (Lichthöhe). Die Ausnahmen gibt es auch bei Immobilien mit Gärten, die unter Umständen zur Wohnfläche gehören können. Zu Hobbyräumen gibt es dagegen keine klare gesetzliche Regelung im WoFIV von 2004.

Rechtsstreitigkeiten entgehen

Käufer und Mieter, die nachmessen oder einen Gutachter beauftragen, kommen oft zu unterschiedlichen Ergebnissen bei der Gesamtwohnfläche als der Eigentümer. Um einen Rechtsstreit aus dem Weg zu gehen, hilft es, vor dem Verkauf einen eigenen Gutachter zu engagieren. Ein Makler kann den Gutachter vermitteln und Sie außerdem genauer zu Wohn- und Nutzflächen bei Immobilien beraten. Wenn Sie einen potenziellen Käufer gefunden haben und der Notartermin vor der Tür steht, kann die Vermessung im Beisein aller Parteien ausgeführt und festgehalten werden. So vermeiden Sie Streitfälle. Für Eigentümer besteht somit nicht die Gefahr, dass der Preis der Immobilie angefochten wird.

Haben Sie weitergehende Fragen zur Berechnung Ihrer Wohnfläche? Kontaktieren Sie uns! Wir beraten Sie gern.

 

Hinweise

In diesem Text wird aus Gründen der besseren Lesbarkeit das generische Maskulinum verwendet. Weibliche und anderweitige Geschlechteridentitäten werden dabei ausdrücklich mitgemeint, soweit es für die Aussage erforderlich ist.

Rechtlicher Hinweis: Dieser Beitrag stellt keine Steuer- oder Rechtsberatung im Einzelfall dar. Bitte lassen Sie die Sachverhalte in Ihrem konkreten Einzelfall von einem Rechtsanwalt und/oder Steuerberater klären.

Foto: © alfexe/Depositphotos.com

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

Coronavirus – Was muss ich zu Hause und bei Besichtigungen berücksichtigen?

In Deutschland gibt es noch keine Ausgangssperre wie in Italien. Aus Vernunft sind bereits jetzt viele Menschen zu Hause geblieben. Was aber gilt es zu beachten bei unvermeidbaren Immobilienbesichtigungen, Besuch oder wenn Lieferungen kommen? So […]

Weiterlesen

Lohnt sich die Immobilienverrentung?

Es gibt viele Banken, Immobilienmakler und andere Anbieter für die Immobilienverrentung. Doch was steckt eigentlich hinter diesem Begriff und was sollten Eigentümer dazu wissen? Ab wann lohnt sich die Immobilienverrentung? Und wer ist der passende Ansprechpartner? Die Verrentung ist eine Möglichkeit, im Alter in der eigenen Immobilie wohnen zu bleiben und Kapital durch den Verkauf…

Weiterlesen

Eigentumswohnung sanieren – wofür bin ich zuständig?

Obwohl man Eigentümer einer Wohnung ist, sind die Möglichkeiten einer Sanierung begrenzt. Denn einige Teile einer Wohnung gehören zum Gemeinschaftseigentum. Hier entscheidet die Eigentümergemeinschaft, ob saniert wird. Doch wofür ist der Wohnungseigentümer und wofür die […]

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Mathilde Allemand

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Büro Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com
Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Isabelle Goncalves

Isabelle Goncalves

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienmaklerin

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Büro Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmaklerin

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienberater

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Büro Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

Französisch, Englisch, Deutsch +49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Geschäftsführer

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-immo.com

Cihan Selmo

Büro Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

Deutsch, Englisch, Türkisch +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Büro Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com
Foto Mitarbeiterin Alice Thion

Alice Thion

Büro Berlin Wilmersdorf

Vermietungsmanagerin

Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch +49 30 887 024 07 alice.thion@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Büro Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmaklerin

Deutsch, Englisch, Spanisch +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com