Price developments during the pandemic

At the start of the coronavirus outbreak in spring 2020, we were often asked how prices were likely to develop in the course of the pandemic. Will the restrictions on economic and private life have an effect on purchasing behaviour, and thus a negative impact on purchase prices?

Twelve months on from the outbreak of the pandemic, it is fair to say that, no, there have been hardly any negative effects on Berlin’s property market. According to various studies, purchase prices continued to rise in 2020. The number of people searching for a home of their own has even increased. Thus, compared to 2019, there were just under 38 % more enquiries [10] for owner-occupied apartments in Berlin. And it’s not just Berlin – demand has increased throughout Germany.

Developments in the demand for owner-occupied apartments


[11]

When I talk with our estate agents about the current situation and about our conversations with our customers, I notice that the search criteria of prospective buyers have changed. The pandemic has greatly increased the importance of an apartment, and for many people it has become more crucial than ever to have a living space that meets their wishes. In this context, two search criteria have proved especially important and altered:

1. The size of the apartments / the number of rooms has become more important.

2. A balcony or terrace has become increasingly essential.

The life of a major city such as Berlin lives rests on the ability to meet people. In restaurants, in parks or when shopping in the shopping districts. There has been a change here. The desire for a large apartment with a balcony or separate room has always been very important, but has become even more so.

With its regulations, reduced working hours and the requirement to work from home, the pandemic has ensured that people’s apartments have become more important than ever as places of sanctuary. An additional room for a home office, and a balcony in order to get some fresh air and sunshine, have changed the search behaviour of many potential buyers. Thus the number of enquiries for apartments with balconies has increased by 29 %, and apartments between 100 m2 and 150 m2 in size have received just under 65% more enquiries. [12]

The unwaveringly high demand for acquiring living space by moving to the city or within the city, or as an investment, has resulted in a further increase in prices. Within Germany, the greatest increase was in Berlin. Compared to the rest of Germany (9.4 %), prices increased by 12.5 % in Berlin . [13]Prices have continuously developed throughout the metropolitan area and have grown constantly since 2012. In the fourth quarter of 2020, the average price per square metre was €4,596/m2, according to statistics published by empirica/Value AG.

Purchase price development for owner-occupied apartments in Berlin 2012 -2020


[14]

The general conditions of Berlin’s property market and the pandemic mean that demand for property remains constant and that prices have continued to rise. Unfortunately, the pandemic is far from over and we must therefore wait and see how the market will react to the additional measures.

We will continue to monitor the Berlin property market for you and keep you continuously updated on any developments via our newsletter.

If you have any questions regarding prices or if you wish to know how the price of your apartment has developed, please get in touch with us.

You can reach us at:

E-mail: contact@aden-immo.com
Telephone: +49 30 61 67 51 15

Legal note: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please have the facts of your specific individual case clarified by a lawyer and/or tax advisor.

Photo: © malpetr/Depositphotos.com

_____________________________________________________________________

[10] https://www.immobilienscout24.de/wissen/verkaufen/corona-und-die-immobilienpreise.html
[11] https://www.immobilienscout24.de/wissen/verkaufen/corona-und-die-immobilienpreise.html
[12] https://www.immobilienscout24.de/wissen/verkaufen/corona-und-die-immobilienpreise.html
[13] https://www.presseportal.de/pm/31321/4812728
[14] https://de.statista.com/statistik/daten/studie/553618/umfrage/kaufpreise-fuer-eigentumswohnungen-in-berlin/

Airbnb verdict on the Repurposing Act

Since 2014, the so-called Repurposing Act (Zweckentfremdungsgesetz) has been in force in Berlin. The aim of this legislation is to ensure that apartments are used for standard tenancies only. This is to prevent apartments from being withdrawn from the conventional rental accommodation market and to make it easier for tenants to find housing.

Read more

Ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied properties

In implementation of the coalition agreement, the ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied properties is now being redrafted. The first draft raised many questions and was roundly criticised. Many owners of apartment buildings are now understandably worried that they are no longer free to do with their property as they see fit. Dividing their property up into owner-occupied apartments will only be possible subject to restrictions.

Read more

The future is home working

We cannot yet predict with any certainty which of the changes wrought by the pandemic will remain once it recedes from our everyday lives. One thing that is certain, however, it that working from home has fundamentally changed
the world of work as well as the way we live. Owing to the stricter pandemic regulations in May 2021, the number of people working from home increased further.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Michael Bautz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com

Wie haben sich die Immobilienpreise 2020 während Corona entwickelt?

Zu Beginn der Pandemie im Frühjahr 2020 wurden wir oft gefragt, wie sich die Preise während Pandemie entwickeln werden. Werden sich Einschränkungen im wirtschaftlichen und auch im privaten Leben auf das Kaufverhalten auswirken und damit die Kaufpreise negativ beeinflussen?

12 Monate nach Eintritt der Pandemie kann man sagen, nein, es gab kaum negative Auswirkungen auf den Berliner Immobilienmarkt. Die Kaufpreise sind gemäß verschiedener Studien auch 2020 gestiegen. Die Zahl der Menschen, die die eigenen vier Wänden suchen, ist sogar noch gestiegen. So sind im Vergleich zum Vorjahr knapp 38 % [10] mehr Anfragen für Eigentumswohnungen in Berlin eingegangen. Nicht nur in Berlin, sondern Deutschlandweit ist die Nachfrage gestiegen:

Nachfrageentwicklung für Eigentumswohnungen


[11]

Wenn ich mit unseren Maklern über die derzeitige Situation und über die Gespräche mit unseren Kunden spreche, muss ich feststellen, dass sich die Suchkriterien der Kaufinteressenten verändert haben. Die Pandemie hat die Bedeutung einer Wohnung stark erhöht, und es ist für viele wichtiger denn je, einen Wohnraum zu haben, der ihren Wünschen entspricht. Dabei haben sich zwei Suchkriterien als besonders wichtig und verändert gezeigt:

1. Die Größe der Wohnung bzw. die Anzahl der Zimmer haben an Bedeutung gewonnen.

2. Balkon oder Terrasse haben sich als zunehmend unverzichtbar gezeigt.

Eine Großstadt wie Berlin lebt davon, dass man sich trifft. In Restaurants, in Parks und auch zum Shoppen in den Einkaufsmeilen. Hier gab es eine Veränderung. Der Wunsch nach einer großen Wohnung mit Balkon oder einem separaten Zimmer war zwar schon immer wichtig, hat nun aber an Bedeutung gewonnen.

Die Pandemie mit ihren Regelungen, Kurzarbeit und Homeoffice haben dafür gesorgt, dass die Wohnung als Rückzugsort wichtiger denn je geworden ist. Ein zusätzlicher Raum fürs Homeoffice, ein Balkon als Möglichkeit frische Luft und Sonne zu tanken, haben das Suchverhalten vieler Kaufinteressenten verändert. So sind die Anfragen für Wohnungen mit Balkon um 29 % gestiegen und Wohnungen zwischen 100 qm und 150 qm haben knapp 65 % mehr Anfragen erhalten. [12]

Die unverändert hohe Nachfrage nach Wohnraum durch Zuzug, Umzug oder durch Geldanlage haben die Preise weiter steigen lassen. Der Anstieg in Berlin war deutschlandweit am stärksten. Die Preise stiegen in Berlin im Vergleich zum Rest der Republik (9,4 %) um 12,5 % [13]. Die Preise haben sich über das gesamte Stadtgebiet kontinuierlich entwickelt und sind seit 2012 stetig gewachsen. Im 4. Quartal 2020 lag der durchschnittliche Quadratmeterpreis laut einer Statistik der empirica/Value AG bei 4.596,- €/qm.

Kaufpreisentwicklung für Eigentumswohnungen in Berlin 2012 -2020


[14]

Die Rahmenbedingungen des Berliner Immobilienmarktes und die Pandemie sorgen dafür, dass die Nachfrage nach Immobilien ungebrochen ist und die Preise weiter gestiegen sind. Leider ist die Pandemie wohl noch lange nicht vorbei und daher bleibt abzuwarten, wie der Markt auf die weiteren Maßnahmen reagieren wird.

Wir werden für Sie weiter den Berliner Immobilienmarkt im Auge behalten und Sie kontinuierlich über Veränderungen im Rahmen unserer Newsletter informieren.

Sollten Sie Fragen zu den Preisen haben, oder wissen wollen, wie sich der Preis für Ihre Wohnung entwickelt hat, schreiben Sie uns.

Sie erreichen uns unter:

E-Mail: contact@aden-immo.com
Telefon: +49 30 61 67 51 15

Rechtlicher Hinweis: Dieser Beitrag stellt keine Steuer- oder Rechtsberatung im Einzelfall dar. Bitte lassen Sie die Sachverhalte in Ihrem konkreten Einzelfall von einem Rechtsanwalt und/oder Steuerberater klären.

Foto: © malpetr/Depositphotos.com

_____________________________________________________________________

[10] https://www.immobilienscout24.de/wissen/verkaufen/corona-und-die-immobilienpreise.html
[11] https://www.immobilienscout24.de/wissen/verkaufen/corona-und-die-immobilienpreise.html
[12] https://www.immobilienscout24.de/wissen/verkaufen/corona-und-die-immobilienpreise.html
[13] https://www.presseportal.de/pm/31321/4812728
[14] https://de.statista.com/statistik/daten/studie/553618/umfrage/kaufpreise-fuer-eigentumswohnungen-in-berlin/

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

Zukunft Homeoffice

Welche Einflüsse auch nach Abklingen der Pandemie Bestandteil des Alltags bleiben, ist noch nicht genau absehbar. Sicher ist jedoch, dass das Homeoffice sowohl die
Arbeitswelt als auch das Wohnen maßgeblich verändern wird. Die Nutzung des Homeoffice ist durch strengere Pandemieregelungen im Mai 2021 weiter gestiegen.

Weiterlesen

Umwandlungsverbot von Mietwohnungen in Eigentumswohnungen

Die Regierungskoalition hat sich auf einen Kompromiss zum Bauland-mobilisierungsgesetz verständigt. Dieser Gesetzentwurf ist am 23.06.2021 in Kraft getreten. Damit wurde das umstrittene Umwandlungsverbot von Miet- in
Eigentumswohnungen in Gebieten mit angespannten Wohnungsmärkten eingeführt.

Weiterlesen

Ein Jahr Mietendeckel: welche Folgen hat der Mietendeckel?

Die Auswirkungen des Mietendeckels beschäftigen uns tagtäglich. Die Zahlen sprechen für sich. Die Angebote an Mietwohnungen sind drastisch gesunken. Die Mietinteressenten finden schwerer denn je eine neue Bleibe. Es ist eine Schattenmiete entstanden, die die Rechtsunsicherheit ausgleichen soll. Doch mit all seinen Auswirkungen schafft der Berliner Mietendeckel nicht, was er schaffen sollte. Eine Entspannung auf dem Berliner Immobilienmarkt ist nicht eingetreten. Sondern das Gegenteil….

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Michael Bautz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com