Landlord and tenant obligations in Germany

If you are currently renting out an apartment in Berlin, there are many things to know about tenant protection in rental agreements in Germany. For instance, who is responsible for paying the cleaning service in the building? Or perhaps the windows need to be changed, and you are not sure if this is included in the landlord obligations? ADEN Immo explains it all to you.

Keep in mind that ADEN Immo is a real estate agency and recommends you consult the official publications from the Berliner Finanzamt and Senate. This article is provided for your information only, based on our knowledge and experience as real estate brokers in Berlin. ADEN Immo bears no liability for omissions or errors.

Rental contracts and tenant protection

In Germany, whenever an apartment is rented out, a rental contract (Mietvertrag) has to be signed by both the landlord and the tenant. The contract must contain information about the duration, costs (rent and monthly charges), terms of notice, deposit, and redecoration once the tenant moves out. It is common practice for landlords to ask their tenants to redecorate the property when moving out. This involves painting the walls white and leaving it in the same state as it was received… while of course signs of usage are expected, the tenant is responsible for broken appliances or furniture (see below: the importance of the Übergabeprotokoll).

In the rental contract, the house rules (Hausordnung) should also be specified (or added in a separate document). These will necessarily mention quiet hours, which in Germany are usually from 22:00-7:00 and 13:00-15:00. If the tenant consistently disregards these quiet hours and disturbs the building, if there are many complaints from the neighbors, this can constitute grounds for an eviction without notice.

Ending a rental agreement: tenant protection

There are many myths about the almighty tenant status in Germany. In 1971 in West Berlin, a law was passed that made evictions virtually impossible. Since then, the law has been repealed but there are still very strict reglementations on ending an unlimited (unbefristet) contract. These are still the standard rental contract in Germany:
The notice period is usually 3 months. It may increase to 6, 9 and 12 months, when the tenant has occupied the apartment for over 5, 8 and 10 years respectively
A shorter notice period may be agreed upon in the lease. Often, the notice is just one month for short-term contracts like Zwischenmiete. If the landlord wants to terminate the lease before it is up, he still needs to justify it)
The lease may be terminated if the tenant has broken the conditions of the contract on repeated occasions. This has to be proven and documented.
Eigenbedarf: the lease may be terminated if the tenant wants to use the property for himself or a relative. This also must be proven and justified extensively.

Generally, terminating a lease is a very restricted affair for landlords in Germany! Furnished apartments are usually treated a bit differently (shorter contracts with shorter notice periods, for instance). Discover everything in ADEN Immo’s Guide to being a landlord in Berlin and renting out an apartment (PDF)!!

Deposits: Importance of the Übergabeprotokoll

Before moving in, tenants are usually asked to pay a deposit (Kaution). This represents up to 3 months of rent (Kaltmiete). At the end of the tenancy, this must be paid back to the tenant, usually within one month. However, if there were damages to the property or furniture, the landlord may keep part of it. So how do we determine if there were damages? Before getting the keys to the apartment, the tenant and the landlord must inspect the apartment together. They fill in an Übergabeprotokoll which defines the condition of the property. For instance, holes in the walls, defects on the floor, issues with the electricity must be indicated, as well as the state of the furniture or appliances (kitchen, bathroom etc.).

Therefore, at the end of the lease, a new Übergabeprotokoll is made and compared to the old one. If there are damages beyond normal signs of usage, the tenant is given a reasonable amount of time to do some repairs. Only after this, the landlord can retain part of the deposit if the repairs have not been duly conducted.

When preparing a new rental agreement for an apartment, there are many things to look out for! Is the square footage of the flat accurate? Have the monthly expenses and side costs been adequately calculated? Was the rental brake law, the Mietpreisbremse, been taken into consideration? ADEN Immo details all these questions in the Guide to being a landlord in Berlin and renting out an apartment (PDF)!!

Disclaimer: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please consult a solicitor and/or accountant to clarify the circumstances of your specific case.

Photo: © https://www.shutterstock.com/de/image-photo/realestate-agent-reading-terms-contract-clients-580613788

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

One year of frozen rents – the consequences of the rent cap

The effects of the rent cap are keeping us occupied on a daily basis. The figures speak for themselves. The number of rental properties on the market has gone down drastically. Prospective tenants are having a harder time than ever finding accommodation. A so-called “shadow rental price” has arisen, designed to compensate for the legal uncertainty. Yet despite all its consequences, Berlin’s rent cap is not achieving its intended purpose. There has been no relaxation of the city’s property market. Quite the opposite, in fact.

Read more

Tenants and owners: two different forms of housing, two unequal groups

Housing is a social issue. Pekka Sagner, economist for housing policy and property economics at the German Economic Institute, has analysed the difference between tenants and owners, the effects of the housing market and the different benefits and drawbacks associated with these two forms of housing.

Read more

The future is home working

We cannot yet predict with any certainty which of the changes wrought by the pandemic will remain once it recedes from our everyday lives. One thing that is certain, however, it that working from home has fundamentally changed
the world of work as well as the way we live. Owing to the stricter pandemic regulations in May 2021, the number of people working from home increased further.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Mathilde Allemand

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Client Management

French, German, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Managing Director

French, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

French, English, German +49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Managing Director

French, English, German +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Turkish +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Spanish +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com

Vermieter und Mieter in Deutschland

Wenn Sie derzeit eine Wohnung in Berlin vermieten, gibt es in viele Informationen über den Mieterschutz in einem Mietvertrag in Deutschland zu beachten. Wer ist beispielsweise für die Bezahlung des Reinigungsdienstes im Gebäude verantwortlich? Oder vielleicht müssen die Fenster ausgetauscht werden? Sind Sie sich nicht sicher, ob dies in den Verpflichtungen des Vermieters enthalten ist? ADEN IMMOBILIEN erklärt Ihnen alles.

Beachten Sie, dass ADEN IMMOBILIEN eine Immobilienagentur ist und empfiehlt, die offiziellen Publikationen des Berliner Finanzamts und des Senats zu lesen. Dieser Artikel dient ausschließlich zu Ihrer Information und basiert auf unseren Kenntnissen und Erfahrungen als Immobilienmakler in Berlin. ADEN IMMOBILIEN haftet nicht für Auslassungen oder Fehler.

Mietverträge und Mieterschutz

Bei der Vermietung einer Wohnung muss sowohl vom Vermieter als auch vom Mieter ein Mietvertrag in Deutschland unterzeichnet werden. Der Vertrag muss Angaben über die Mietdauer, die Kosten (Höhe der Miete und monatliche Nebenkosten), Kündigungsfristen, Kaution und die Renovierung nach bzw. beim Auszug des Mieters enthalten. Es ist üblich, dass Vermieter ihre Mieter bitten, die Immobilie beim Auszug zu renovieren. Dabei werden die Wände weiß gestrichen und in demselben Zustand belassen, in dem sie dem Mieter übergeben wurden. Während natürlich mit Gebrauchsspuren zu rechnen ist, ist der Mieter für defekte Geräte oder Möbel verantwortlich (siehe unten: die Bedeutung des Übergabeprotokolls).

Im Mietvertrag sollte auch die Hausordnung angegeben oder in einem separaten Dokument hinzugefügt werden. In diesen Fällen werden zwangsläufig Ruhestunden erwähnt, die in Deutschland normalerweise zwischen 22:00 und 07:00 Uhr und zwischen 13:00 und 15:00 Uhr liegen. Wenn der Mieter diese Ruhestunden konsequent missachtet und andere Mieter stört, wenn viele Beschwerden von den Nachbarn vorliegen, kann dies einen Grund für eine fristlose Kündigung des Mietvertrages darstellen.

Mietvertrag kündigen: der Mieterschutz

Es gibt viele Mythen über den allmächtigen Mieterstatus in Deutschland. 1971 wurde in Westberlin ein Gesetz verabschiedet, das Kündigungen praktisch unmöglich machte. Seitdem ist das Gesetz aufgehoben worden, aber es gibt immer noch sehr strenge Regelungen zur Beendigung eines unbefristeten Mietvertrages. der in Deutschland der Standardmietvertrag ist:
Die Kündigungsfrist beträgt in der Regel 3 Monate und verlängert sich auf 6, 9 bzw. 12 Monate, wenn der Mieter seit über 5, 8 und 10 Jahren in der Wohnung lebt.
Im Mietvertrag kann eine kürzere Kündigungsfrist vereinbart werden. Bei kurzfristigen Verträgen wie einer Zwischenmiete beispielsweise beträgt die Kündigungsfrist häufig nur einen Monat. Wenn der Vermieter den Mietvertrag jedoch vorzeitig kündigen möchte, muss er dies begründen.
Der Mietvertrag kann gekündigt werden, wenn der Mieter wiederholt gegen die Vertragsbedingungen verstoßen hat (dies muss nachgewiesen und dokumentiert werden).
Eigenbedarf: Der Mietvertrag kann gekündigt werden, wenn der Mieter die Immobilie für sich selbst oder einen Verwandten nutzen möchte (dies muss auch umfangreich nachgewiesen und begründet werden).

Die Kündigung eines Mietvertrags ist für Vermieter in Deutschland generell eine sehr eingeschränkte Angelegenheit! Möblierte Wohnungen werden normalerweise etwas anders behandelt (z. B. kürzere Verträge mit kürzeren Kündigungsfristen). Erfahren Sie alles im ADEN IMMOBILIEN Ratgeber “Eine Wohnung in Berlin als Vermieter verkaufen” (PDF)!

Einlagen und Rücklagen: die Bedeutung des Übergabeprotokolls

Vor dem Einzug des Mieters wird in der Regel eine Kaution verlangt, die bis zu 3 Monatsmieten betragen kann. Am Ende des Mietverhältnisses müssen Sie als Vermieter diese an den Mieter zurückzahlen – sofern keine Schäden an der Immobilie oder am Mobiliar entstanden sind. Wie können Sie aber feststellen, ob Schäden entstanden sind? Bevor Sie die Schlüssel für die Wohnung erhalten, müssen der Mieter und der Vermieter die Wohnung gemeinsam inspizieren und ein Übergabeprotokoll ausfüllen, das den Zustand der Immobilie definiert. Zum Beispiel sind Löcher in den Wänden, Mängel am Boden, Probleme mit der Elektrizität sowie der Zustand der Möbel oder Geräte (Küche, Badezimmer usw.) anzugeben.

Am Ende des Mietvertrags wird dann ein neues Übergabeprotokoll erstellt und mit dem alten verglichen. Bei Schäden, die über die normalen Gebrauchsspuren hinausgehen, hat der Mieter ausreichend Zeit, einige Reparaturen vorzunehmen. Erst danach kann der Vermieter einen Teil der Kaution einbehalten, wenn die Reparaturen nicht ordnungsgemäß durchgeführt wurden.

Wenn Sie einen neuen Mietvertrag in Deutschland abschließen, gibt es viele Dinge, auf die Sie achten müssen! Ist der Grundriss der Wohnung genau? Wurden die monatlichen Ausgaben und Nebenkosten ausreichend berechnet? Wurde das Mietbremsengesetz, die sogenannte Mietpreisbremse, berücksichtigt? ADEN IMMOBILIEN gibt auf all diese Fragen Antworten in dem vollständigen PDF-Leitfaden für Vermieter in Berlin und die Vermietung einer Wohnung!

Rechtlicher Hinweis: Dieser Beitrag stellt keine Steuer- oder Rechtsberatung im Einzelfall dar. Bitte lassen Sie die Sachverhalte in Ihrem konkreten Einzelfall von einem Rechtsanwalt und/oder Steuerberater klären.

Foto: © https://www.shutterstock.com/de/image-photo/realestate-agent-reading-terms-contract-clients-580613788

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

Umwandlungsverbot von Mietwohnungen in Eigentumswohnungen

Die Regierungskoalition hat sich auf einen Kompromiss zum Bauland-mobilisierungsgesetz verständigt. Dieser Gesetzentwurf ist am 23.06.2021 in Kraft getreten. Damit wurde das umstrittene Umwandlungsverbot von Miet- in
Eigentumswohnungen in Gebieten mit angespannten Wohnungsmärkten eingeführt.

Weiterlesen

Eine Wohnung in Berlin zur Miete finden

Berlin ist eine attraktive Stadt mit hoher Lebensqualität. ADEN IMMOBILIEN bietet viele Mietmöglichkeiten – von Single-Apartments bis zu großen Familienwohnungen. Wie können Sie sich also darauf vorbereiten, eine Wohnung in Berlin zur Miete zu finden? ADEN IMMOBILIEN gibt Ihnen einige Tipps, wie Sie nach Wohnungen suchen, Dokumente vorbereiten und mit dem Vermieter in Kontakt treten können.

Weiterlesen

Den richtigen Mieter für Ihre Berliner Wohnung finden.

Sie besitzen eine Immobilie und suchen nach einem neuen Mieter für Ihre Berliner Wohnung? Oder vielleicht sind Sie einfach neugierig auf die Schritte, die man als Vermieter unternehmen muss, wenn ein neuer Mieter in die Wohnung einziehen soll? Wie filtert man die Bewerber? ADEN IMMOBILIEN beleuchtet die wichtigsten Fragen und Checks, die Sie vor dem Abschluss eines Mietvertrages durchführen sollten.

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Mathilde Allemand

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienmaklerin

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmaklerin

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Kundenmanagement

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienberater

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Geschäftsführer

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Geschäftsführer

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmaklerin

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com