Ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied properties

The general election campaign of 2017 in part already revolved around housing policy; thus on 12 March 2018, the CDU, CSU and SPD parties of the German coalition government agreed to support municipalities in utilising building land and ensuring the availability of affordable housing.

In June 2020, a prepared draft bill was presented that was then approved by the German federal cabinet in November 2020.

The Bundestag (German parliament) debated this law for the first time on 28.01.2021. Part of the law deals with an expanded right of first refusal for municipalities and the so-called conversion ban in a strained housing market.

Content of the law 

1. Expanded right of first refusal for municipalities

Municipalities’ right of first refusal is to be expanded and would then also apply to largely undeveloped plots. However, the law would also apply to fully undeveloped plots, which could be subject to a right of first refusal if they are located within a municipality with a strained housing market.

2. Conversion ban in a strained housing market

A Germany-wide conversion ban is being planned. According to this law, an apartment building currently providing rental accommodation can only be converted into owner-occupied apartments subject to official approval and restrictions, assuming that the building stands within a strained housing market. For Berlin and other major cities, this means that a so-called reservation of official approval would be in effect for the entire metropolitan area. Based on the drafting, this reservation of official approval could be regarded as a conversion ban.

The law is currently being debated. The draft has been sharply criticised on all sides. Nobody knows when the law will face its next formal hurdles, and thus when it will come into force. However, it could come into effect at any time. As to how and in what form, we must wait and see. We will of course update you on any developments.

If you have any questions regarding the conversion ban and the best way to deal with it, please contact us at any time. We have gained in-depth experience in property conversions in the last 10 years and will also be happy to assist you in this regard.

You can reach us at:

E-mail: contact@aden-immo.com
Telephone: +49 30 61 67 51 15

Legal note: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please have the facts of your specific individual case clarified by a lawyer and/or tax advisor.

photo: © AndreyPopov/istockphoto.com

One year of frozen rents – the consequences of the rent cap

The effects of the rent cap are keeping us occupied on a daily basis. The figures speak for themselves. The number of rental properties on the market has gone down drastically. Prospective tenants are having a harder time than ever finding accommodation. A so-called “shadow rental price” has arisen, designed to compensate for the legal uncertainty. Yet despite all its consequences, Berlin’s rent cap is not achieving its intended purpose. There has been no relaxation of the city’s property market. Quite the opposite, in fact.

Continue reading

THE BERLIN RENT CAP HAS BEEN OVERTURNED AND DECLARED UNCONSTITUTIONAL. WHAT DOES THIS MEAN FOR CURRENT AND FUTURE CONTRACTS?

After the rent cap was overturned by the German Federal Constitutional Court, we received a large number of questions regarding the new situation. We took your questions to attorney Nils Holger Bayer.

Continue reading

Price developments during the pandemic

In the final months of the year and at the start of the pandemic in particular, the price developments in 2020 were of the utmost significance to all stakeholders. The analyses show a clear, positive development in Berlin, but also Germany as a whole. Please follow the link to read about the effect of the pandemic on property prices.

Continue reading

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Michael Bautz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com

Umwandlungsverbot von Mehrfamilienhäusern in Eigentumswohnungen in Deutschland

Schon der Wahlkampf 2017 stand unter anderem im Zeichen der Wohnungspolitik und so haben am 12. März 2018 CDU, CSU und SPD vereinbart, die Kommunen bei der Aktivierung von Bauland und der Sicherung bezahlbaren Wohnens zu unterstützen.

Im Juni 2020 wurde ein ausgearbeiteter Referentenentwurf vorgestellt, der im November 2020 durch das Bundeskabinett beschlossen wurde.

Am 28.01.2021 hat der Bundestag erstmals über dieses Gesetz beraten. Ein Teil dieses Gesetzes befasst sich mit einem erweiterten Vorkaufsrecht für Gemeinden und mit dem sogenannten Umwandlungsverbot in einem angespannten Wohnungsmarkt.

Inhalt des Gesetzes 

1.Erweitertes Vorkaufsrecht für Gemeinden

Das Vorkaufsrecht von Gemeinden soll erweitert werden und würde dann auch für Grundstücke mit geringer Bebauung gelten. Aber auch brachliegende Grundstücke wären davon betroffen und könnten einem Vorkaufsrecht unterliegen, wenn das Grundstück in einer Gemeinde mit angespanntem Wohnungsmarkt liegt.

2. Umwandlungsverbot in angespanntem Wohnungsmarkt

Es ist ein bundesweites Umwandlungsverbot geplant. Ein Mehrfamilienhaus darf nach diesem Gesetz nur noch mit Genehmigung und unter Auflagen in Eigentumswohnungen umgewandelt/aufgeteilt werden. Vorausgesetzt das Haus befindet sich in einem angespannten Wohnungsmarkt. Für Berlin und andere Großstädte bedeutet dies einen sogenannten Genehmigungsvorbehalt für das gesamte Stadtgebiet. Dieser Genehmigungsvorbehalt kann aufgrund seiner Ausgestaltung als Umwandlungsverbot gesehen werden.

Das Gesetz befindet sich derzeit in der Abstimmung. Der Entwurf muss sich scharfe Kritik von vielen Seiten gefallen lassen. Wann das Gesetz die nächsten formalen Hürden nimmt, ist unbekannt und damit auch, wann es in Kraft tritt. Zu rechnen ist mit dem Gesetz momentan aber jeder Zeit. Wie und in welcher Form, bleibt abzuwarten. Natürlich werden wir über weitere Neuigkeiten informieren.

Sollten Sie Fragen zum Umwandlungsverbot haben und wie Sie am besten damit umgehen, können Sie uns gerne jederzeit kontaktieren. Wir konnten in den vergangen 10 Jahren viel Erfahrung im Bereich der Aufteilung sammeln und stehen auch Ihnen gerne zur Seite.

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Email: contact@aden-immo.com
Telefon: +49 30 61 67 51 15

Rechtlicher Hinweis: Dieser Beitrag stellt keine Steuer- oder Rechtsberatung im Einzelfall dar. Bitte lassen Sie die Sachverhalte in Ihrem konkreten Einzelfall von einem Rechtsanwalt und/oder Steuerberater klären.

Foto: © AndreyPopov/istockphoto.com

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

AirBnB-Urteil zum Zweckentfremdungsgesetz

Seit 2014 gibt es in Berlin das sogenannte Zweckentfremdungsgesetz. Ziel des Gesetzes ist es, den Gebrauch von Wohnungen nur im Rahmen einer gewöhnlichen Wohnungsnutzung zu gewährleisten. Damit soll verhindert werden, dass Wohnungen dem normalen Mietmarkt entzogen werden und Mieter leichter eine Wohnung finden.

Weiterlesen

Wie haben sich die Immobilienpreise 2020 während Corona entwickelt?

Die Preisentwicklung in 2020 war in den letzten Monaten und gerade zu Beginn der Pandemie für alle Beteiligten von größter Bedeutung. Die Analysen zeigen ein eindeutiges, positives Ergebnis für Berlin, aber auch für ganz Deutschland. Wie sich die Pandemie auf die Preise ausgewirkt hat, lesen Sie hier…

Weiterlesen

Den richtigen Mieter für Ihre Berliner Wohnung finden.

Sie besitzen eine Immobilie und suchen nach einem neuen Mieter für Ihre Berliner Wohnung? Oder vielleicht sind Sie einfach neugierig auf die Schritte, die man als Vermieter unternehmen muss, wenn ein neuer Mieter in die Wohnung einziehen soll? Wie filtert man die Bewerber? ADEN IMMOBILIEN beleuchtet die wichtigsten Fragen und Checks, die Sie vor dem Abschluss eines Mietvertrages durchführen sollten.

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Michael Bautz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com