Calculating the statute of limitations for capital gains

In Germany, the sale of privately owned property is generally not subject to tax. However, there are some fundamental exceptions that result in tax liabilities on the capital gains made on the sale of property belonging to private individuals. We are continually asked by our customers as to when the sale of a property or plot of land is tax-free.

As a rule, we do not answer these questions ourselves but instead consult our business partners who, in their capacity as tax consultants, are happy to provide us and you with the answers. Each prospective sale must be regarded on a case-by-case basis, and there is an inherent risk in each instance of assessing the situation wrongly. This is why it is always advisable to consult an expert. 

However, we would like to provide you with a general overview, and to this end have sought the advice of an expert. We have asked Mr Hans-Joachim Beck, to furnish us with a summary of the situation in terms of statutory taxation and to outline this for you.

Mr Beck is a former judge at the Berlin-Brandenburg Fiscal Court and today heads the Tax Department at the national offices of IVD (Immobilienverband Deutschland/Real Estate Association Germany) in Berlin. He has helped us out with complex situations many a time in the past.

Capital gains from private sales transactions (capital gains) § 23 EstG

The property forms part of the individual’s private assets

If the property does not form part of the business assets of a company, but is instead part of an individual’s private assets, then the capital gains made from selling the property are fundamentally not subject to any tax. The capital gains do not form part of the income from renting or leasing the property (§ 21 EStG), as this type of income only includes the remuneration for transferring the right of use. Pursuant to §23 EStG, an exception only applies when the property is sold within 10 years of the initial purchase. In this case, the capital gains are subject to tax; they are subject to the normal, so-called tariff-based tax rate. Unlike in other countries, there is no reduced tax rate for capital gains generated on private sales transactions in Germany.

Calculating the 10-year statute of limitations for capital gains from property sales

The legally binding purchase agreements

The two legally binding purchase agreements are key to calculating the 10-year statute of limitations. For the sake of clarity, these are often referred to as the ‘notarised contracts’. It is irrelevant when the transfer of encumbrances and benefits occurred or when the purchaser was entered into the Land Register as the owner. 

Example

Mr A bought a property with a purchase agreement dated 10 June 2005. He sells the property with a purchase agreement dated 5 June 2015. The transfer of encumbrances is arranged for 1 August 2015. Mr A is entered into the Land Register on 12 October 2015. 

Solution

The 10-year statute of limitations begins on the day of contract finalisation on 10 June 2005. The sale is subject to capital gains tax if the purchase agreement is concluded within 10 years. The statute of limitations is calculated pursuant to § 108 of the German Fiscal Code (Abgabenordnungen, AO) in accordance with the regulations of the German Civil Code (BGB) (§§ 187 Para. 1, 188 Paras. 2 and 3 BGB), and thus expires at the end of the day whose number corresponds with that on which the purchase agreement was concluded.  The statute of limitations therefore expires on 10 June 2015, so that Mr A should only sign the purchase agreement for his property on 11 June 2015 if he wishes to avoid the obligation to pay capital gains tax. Because he has signed the purchase agreement sooner, his capital gains are now subject to tax. The fact that the transfer of encumbrances and benefits occurs only after the 10 years have expired is irrelevant. This is because the transfer of encumbrances and benefits is only relevant insofar as this is the date from which Mr A can claim the building-AfA (AfA is the acronym for ‘Absetzung für Abnutzung’, which translates as ‘depreciation for wear and tear’) and operating costs as allowable deductions. 

Purchase agreement that is legally binding for both parties

The purchase agreement becomes instrumental in calculating the statute of limitations only when it is legally binding for both parties. This applies both for the sale and purchase of the property. 

Gifting and inheritances are not classed as transactions

Pursuant to §23 EStG, the gratuitous transfer of a property is not classed as a transaction and therefore cannot be subject to capital gains tax.

Example

Mr A acquired a property for EUR 1 million with a purchase agreement dated 15 October 2009. On 8 July 2015, he gifts this property to his daughter. The market value of the property at this time is EUR 1.2 million.

Solution

Pursuant to § 23 EStG, the value increase of EUR 200,000 is not subject to capital gains tax. The gifting of the property does not represent a transaction, as it is a gratuitous transfer.

Date of acquisition in the event of a gratuitous transfer of property in the form of an inheritance or gift

If the seller acquired the property for free through an inheritance or as a gift, this also does not represent an acquisition, as the acquisition occurred gratuitously. In this instance, pursuant to § 23 Para. 1 Sentence 3 EStG, the acquisition of the property by the testator or the gift-giver is definitive for calculating the statute of limitations and the level of capital gains.

Withdrawal from business assets

The transfer of a property from a business asset to a private asset through withdrawal or the termination of a business is also classed as an acquisition.

Tax exemption in the case of private use

Period of private use

Even if the property is sold within the 10-year statute of limitations, the capital gains are tax-free pursuant to § 23 Para. 1 No. 1 Sentence 3 EStG if the property is used by the owner as a private residence. The owner must have continuously used the property as their own private residence 

  • throughout the entire period between the property’s acquisition (or completion) and sale,
    or
  • in the year it was acquired and during the two preceding years

without any interruption.

Example

Mr A buys a detached house from a developer with a purchase agreement dated 7 July 2013. The house is completed on 1 March 2014. Mr A moves into the house with his family. He sells the house on with a purchase agreement dated 4 October 2015 because he has to move to a different location for work reasons. The transfer of encumbrances is agreed for 1 December. 

Solution

The capital gains from the sale are tax-free. However, the second of the two conditions is not met. Mr A has not used the house himself in the year it was acquired and during the two preceding years, as the house was only completed a year after the sale. Yet Mr A has met the first of the two conditions, because he was continuously using the house as his own private residence from the time it was completed until the time he sold it. However, the conditions for avoiding any tax liability would not be met if Mr A were to let the house to a tenant before selling it. In this case, the transfer of encumbrances is definitive.

Example

Case amendment

Mr A decides to let the house to a lecturer for the month of November 2015.

Solution

In this case, the capital gains on the sale would not be tax-free, as the property was not exclusively reserved for the owner’s private use before the transfer of encumbrances. The financial authorities insist that the owner must have continuously used the property as their own private residence. By contrast, Mr A would incur no tax liability if he were to clear out the property on 1 November and leave it standing empty until 1 December. The first of the two alternatives is intended to exemplify an instance when the period between the acquisition/completion of the house is shorter than in the second alternative. However, one can derive a fundamental principle from this, namely that a house that is never let and has always been used as the owner’s private residence can always be sold without any tax liability. If the property was initially let, it then comes down to whether or not the owner used the property as their own private residence continuously in the year of its acquisition and in the two years before the sale. The owner’s use of the property as their private residence must continue up until the transfer of encumbrances. This condition is still met even when the property is vacated if the owner still has access to it. This own use of the property need not have occurred in complete calendar years, but must represent a continuous period. 

Example

In 2009, Mr A purchased an owner-occupied apartment that was then being let to a tenant. The tenant moved out on 1 October 2013, and Mr A and his family moved into the apartment on 1 November 2013. Mr A sells the apartment with a purchase agreement dated 4 October 2015. The transfer of encumbrances occurs on 1 December 2016. 

Solution

In this case too, the capital gains from the sale of the apartment are not subject to tax. Yet Mr A has not met the conditions of the first alternative, as he has not continuously lived at the apartment since acquiring it, but instead initially let it out. However, Mr A did use the apartment as his own private residence ‘in the year it was acquired and during the two preceding years’. This is because he used the apartment as his own private residence continuously in 2015 as well as in 2014 and 2013. It doesn’t matter that he didn’t live at the apartment himself throughout all of 2013. This is because the second alternative for tax exemption does not feature any condition requiring the owner to use the apartment exclusively as their own private residence during these years. Owner-occupation is therefore not required to cover the full three calendar years before the sale. However, it does have to be a coherent – and continuous – period. This is why the tax exemption does not apply if the apartment is let during this period.

 

Professional co-use

If the taxpayer uses part of the building for professional purposes, such as running a commercial enterprise or engaging in self-employment, this part of the building is excluded from the tax exemption. This is because the building’s use as the owner’s own private residence is a prerequisite for tax exemption. In the eyes of the financial authorities, this still applies if the owner has exercised their right to vote pursuant to § 8 EStDV and has not made this area of their home part of their business assets despite its use for commercial purposes because it is of minor importance (the value of the part of the property used for the owner’s own commercial activities is not greater than a fifth of the value of the entire property and not more than EUR 20,500).  The tax exemption also doesn’t apply to employees if they are using the home as a work room/office. This is because in this instance too, the home is not being used for residential purposes. In the eyes of the financial authorities, this still applies if the costs for the work room/office are excluded from any tax-deductible business expenses pursuant to § 4 Para. 5 No. 6 b EStG. 

Co-use by third parties

The criteria for owner-occupation are met when the owner lives in the home 

  • alone,
  • with their family members, or
  • with third parties. 

together inhabited

Example

Mr A bought an owner-occupied apartment on 22 August 2010 and sold it again on 7 July 2015. He lived in the apartment together with his partner. The capital gains from the sale are tax-free because Mr A lived in the apartment himself, albeit with one other person.

Part-time use

The criteria of owner-occupation are also met if the home is only used by the owner as their place of residence on a part-time basis, but remains available to them for residential purposes the rest of the time. This is why homes that are used for a two-person household are still classed as owner-occupied. The same is true of holiday homes that are not offered to let and instead used exclusively by the owner. 

Gratuitous transfer of the property

A gratuitous transfer of the property represents a form of owner-occupation only if the home is transferred to a child for which the owner can claim child benefit (‘Kindergeld’) or the statutory tax allowance pursuant to § 32 Para. 6 EStG. According to § 32 Para. 4 EStG, a child is only entitled to child benefit until they reach their 26th birthday.

Example

Mr A lives with his family in Stuttgart. When his son moves to Konstanz to study there, Mr A buys an owner-occupied apartment in 2013, which he gratuitously transfers to his son. On 22 August 2015, Mr A sells this apartment again. The capital gains on the sale are tax-free because Mr A can claim child benefit for his son. Account must be taken of the fact that children are only entitled to child benefit until their 26th birthday, and that the special treatment given in cases of gratuitous transfer of property to children ends the moment that the claim to child benefit expires. If Mr A had let the apartment to his son, the capital gains would be subject to tax. However, in that case, Mr A would have been able to claim the costs for the apartment, especially debt interest and AfA, as allowable deductions.

 

  

VRFG a.D. Hans-Joachim Beck

Tax advisor, Tax Department

 

Legal notice: This article is not legally binding and does not constitute tax or legal advice that could give rise to liability. For reliable information in your specific, individual case, please contact the attorneys or accountants appointed to advise you.

 

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

Selling a property in Berlin: what you should know

The real estate market in Berlin is in full bloom: over the past decade, property prices have doubled and the population keeps growing. So what should you know before selling a property in Berlin? How can you improve your chances of a good transaction? How can a real estate broker (a Makler, in German) help you sell an apartment in Germany?

Read more

Ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied apartments

The coalition government has agreed a compromise on the Building Land Mobilisation Act. This draft legislation came into force on 23 June 2021. This marked the introduction of the controversial ban on converting rental accommodation into
owner-occupied apartments in regions with a strained housing market.

Read more

The future is home working

We cannot yet predict with any certainty which of the changes wrought by the pandemic will remain once it recedes from our everyday lives. One thing that is certain, however, it that working from home has fundamentally changed
the world of work as well as the way we live. Owing to the stricter pandemic regulations in May 2021, the number of people working from home increased further.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Mathilde Allemand

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Client Management

French, German, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

French, German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

French, German, English +49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Managing Director

French, English +33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

French, English, German +49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Managing Director

French, English, German +49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Turkish +49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

German, English +49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English +49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

German, English, Spanish +49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com

Berechnung der Spekulationsfrist

Der Verkauf einer Immobilie, die sich im Privatvermögen befindet, ist in Deutschland grundsätzlich steuerfrei. Doch gibt es wesentliche Ausnahmen, die den Gewinn aus der Veräußerung einer Immobilie, die einer Privatperson gehört, steuerpflichtig machen. Wir werden immer wieder von unseren Kunden gefragt, wann der Verkauf einer Immobilie oder eines Grundstücks steuerfrei sei.

Diese Fragen beantworten wir in der Regel nicht selbst, sondern ziehen Geschäftspartner hinzu, die uns bzw. Ihnen als Steuerberater gerne die Antworten geben. Jeder Fall ist individuell zu betrachten und birgt Risiken, die Situation falsch einzuschätzen. Daher ist es immer ratsam, einen Fachmann zu befragen. 

Wir wollen Ihnen aber gerne einen Überblick verschaffen und haben daher bei einem Fachmann nachgefragt. Wir haben Herrn Hans-Joachim Beck gebeten, uns diesbezüglich die steuerrechtliche Situation zusammenzufassen und für Sie darzulegen.

Herr Beck ist ehemaliger Vorsitzender Richter am Finanzgericht Berlin-Brandenburg, leitet die Abteilung Steuern in der IVD-Bundesgeschäftsstelle (Immobilienverband Deutschland) in Berlin und konnte für uns schon so manch schwierigen Sachverhalt klären.

Gewinn aus privaten Veräußerungsgeschäften (Spekulationsgewinn) §23 EstG

Das Grundstück gehört zum Privatvermögen

Gehört das Grundstück nicht zum Betriebsvermögen einer Firma, sondern zum Privatvermögen, so ist ein Gewinn aus der Veräußerung des Grundstücks grundsätzlich steuerfrei. Der Gewinn gehört nicht zu den Einkünften aus Vermietung und Verpachtung (§ 21 EStG), weil diese Einkunftsart nur das Entgelt für die Nutzungsüberlassung erfasst. Eine Ausnahme gilt nur gemäß § 23 EStG, wenn das Grundstück innerhalb von 10 Jahren nach der Anschaffung wieder verkauft wird. In diesem Fall ist der Gewinn steuerpflichtig; er unterliegt dem normalen, sogenannten tariflichen Steuersatz. Anders als in anderen Ländern gibt es in Deutschland keinen ermäßigten Steuersatz für Gewinne aus privaten Veräußerungsgeschäften.

Die Berechnung der Spekulationsfrist von 10 Jahren bei Immobilien

Die schuldrechtlichen Kaufverträge

Maßgeblich für die Berechnung der Frist von 10 Jahren sind die beiden schuldrechtlichen Kaufverträge. Zur Verdeutlichung spricht man häufig von den „Notarverträgen“. Unerheblich ist, wann der Wechsel von Nutzen und Lasten stattfindet und wann der Erwerber als Eigentümer in das Grundbuch eingetragen wird. 

Beispiel

Herr A hat mit Vertrag vom 10. Juni 2005 ein Grundstück gekauft.  Mit Vertrag vom 5. Juni 2015 verkauft er das Grundstück wieder. Der Lastenwechsel wird für den 1. August 2015 vereinbart. In das Grundbuch wird A am 12. Oktober 2015 eingetragen. 

Lösung

Die 10-Jahresfrist beginnt mit dem Tag des Vertragsabschlusses am 10. Juni 2005. Steuerpflichtig ist die Veräußerung, wenn der Vertrag über den Verkauf innerhalb von 10 Jahren abgeschlossen wird. Die Frist berechnet sich gemäß § 108 Abgabenordnungen (AO) nach den Vorschriften des BGB (§§ 187 Abs. 1, 188 Abs. 2 und 3 BGB) und läuft daher mit Ablauf des Tages ab, der seiner Zahl nach demjenigen entspricht, in dem der Kaufvertrag abgeschlossen worden ist.  Die Frist läuft daher mit dem 10. Juni 2015 ab, sodass A den Vertrag über den Verkauf des Grundstücks erst am 11. Juni 2015 unterschreiben dürfte, wenn er die Steuerpflicht vermeiden will. Da er den Kaufvertrag vorher abgeschlossen hat, ist der Veräußerungsgewinn steuerpflichtig. Dass der Wechsel von Nutzen und Lasten erst nach Ablauf der 10 Jahre stattfindet, ist unerheblich. Denn Wechsel von Nutzen und Lasten ist nur insofern von Bedeutung, als A erst von da an die Gebäude-AfA und die Betriebskosten als Werbungskosten abziehen kann. 

Kaufvertrag, der beide Parteien rechtlich bindet.

Maßgeblich ist der Kaufvertrag für die Berechnung der Frist erst dann, wenn er für beide Parteien rechtlich bindend ist. Dies gilt sowohl für den Ankauf als auch den Verkauf des Grundstücks. 

Schenkung und Erbfall sind keine Veräußerung

Die unentgeltliche Übertragung eines Grundstücks ist keine Veräußerung i.S. des § 23 EStG und kann daher keine Steuerpflicht auslösen.

Beispiel

Herr A hat mit Kaufvertrag vom 15. Oktober 2009 ein Grundstück für 1,0 Mio. € erworben. Er schenkt dieses Grundstück am 8. Juli 2015 seiner Tochter. Der Verkehrswert des Grundstücks beträgt zu diesem Zeitpunkt 1,2 Mio. €.

Lösung

Die Wertsteigerung von 200.000 € ist nicht nach § 23 EStG steuerpflichtig. Die Schenkung stellt keine Veräußerung dar, weil es sich um eine unentgeltliche Übertragung handelt.

Zeitpunkt der Anschaffung beim unentgeltlichen Erwerb durch Erbfall oder Schenkung

Hat der Verkäufer das Grundstück unentgeltlich durch einen Erbfall oder durch eine Schenkung erworben, so stellt dies auch keine Anschaffung dar, weil der Erwerb unentgeltlich ist. In diesem Fall ist gemäß § 23 Abs. 1 Satz 3 EStG sowohl für die Berechnung der Frist als auch der Höhe des Gewinns die Anschaffung durch den Erblasser oder den Schenker maßgeblich.

Entnahme aus dem Betriebsvermögen

Als Anschaffung gilt auch die Überführung eines Grundstücks aus dem Betriebsvermögen in das Privatvermögen durch Entnahme oder Betriebsaufgabe.

Steuerfreiheit bei Selbstnutzung

Dauer der Selbstnutzung

Auch wenn das Grundstück innerhalb der Frist von 10 Jahren verkauft wird, ist der Gewinn gemäß § 23 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 Satz 3 EStG steuerfrei, wenn das Grundstück zu eigenen Wohnzwecken genutzt worden ist. Die Nutzung zu eigenen Wohnzwecken muss 

  • während des gesamten Zeitraums zwischen Anschaffung (oder Fertigstellung) und Veräußerung
    oder
  • im Jahr der Veräußerung und in den beiden vorangegangenen Jahren

ununterbrochen stattgefunden haben.

Beispiel

A kauft vom Bauträger mit Vertrag vom 7. Juli 2013 ein Einfamilienhaus. Das Gebäude wird zum 1. März 2014 fertiggestellt. A zieht mit seiner Familie in das Haus ein. Mit Vertrag vom 4. Oktober 2015 verkauft A das Haus wieder, weil er aus beruflichen Gründen umziehen muss. Der Lastenwechsel wird zum 1.Dezember vereinbart. 

Lösung

Der Gewinn aus der Veräußerung ist steuerfrei. Allerdings ist die zweite der beiden Voraussetzungen nicht erfüllt. A hat das Haus nicht im Jahr der Veräußerung und in den beiden vorangegangenen Jahren selbst genutzt, weil das Haus erst im Jahr vor der Veräußerung fertiggestellt wurde. A hat aber die erste der beiden Voraussetzungen erfüllt, weil das Haus seit seiner Fertigstellung bis zur Veräußerung ununterbrochen selbst genutzt hat. Die Voraussetzung für die Steuerfreiheit wäre aber nicht erfüllt, wenn A das Haus vor dem Verkauf vermieten würde. Maßgeblich ist insofern der Lastenwechsel.

Beispiel

Fallabwandlung

A vermietet das Haus noch für den Monat November 2015 an einen Dozenten.

Lösung

In diesem Fall wäre der Veräußerungsgewinn nicht steuerfrei, weil das Haus bis zum Lastenwechsel nicht ausschließlich selbst genutzt wurde. Die Finanzverwaltung legt das ausschließlich dahingehend aus, dass die Selbstnutzung ununterbrochen gewesen sein muss. Unschädlich wäre es dagegen, wenn A das Haus zum 1. November räumen und bis zum 1. Dezember leer stehen lassen würde. Die erste der beiden Alternativen sollen die Fälle erfassen, in denen der Zeitraum zwischen Anschaffung bzw. Fertigstellung kürzer ist als in der zweiten Alternative. Man kann aber daraus den Grundsatz ableiten, dass ein Haus, das nie vermietet und immer nur selbst genutzt wurde, stets steuerfrei verkauft werden kann. Wurde das Gebäude zunächst vermietet, kommt es darauf an, dass es in dem Jahr der Veräußerung und in den beiden letzten Jahren vor der Veräußerung – ununterbrochen – selbst genutzt wurde. Die Selbstnutzung muss bis zum Lastenwechsel andauern. Dabei gilt auch ein Leerstand als Selbstnutzung, wenn dem Verkäufer die Wohnung noch zur Verfügung steht. Die Selbstnutzung muss nicht in den vollen Jahren stattgefunden haben, es muss sich aber um einen zusammenhängenden Zeitraum handeln. 

Beispiel

A hat im Jahre 2009 eine vermietete Eigentumswohnung gekauft.  Zum 1. Oktober 2013 ist der Mieter ausgezogen, sodass A mit seiner Familie am 1. November 2013 in die Wohnung eingezogen ist. Mit Kaufvertrag vom 4. Oktober 2015 verkauft A die Wohnung wieder. Der Lastenwechsel findet zum 1. Dezember 2016 statt. 

Lösung

Auch in diesem Fall ist der Gewinn aus dem Verkauf der Wohnung steuerfrei. Allerdings hat A die erste Alternative nicht erfüllt, weil er die Wohnung seit der Anschaffung nicht ununterbrochen selbst bewohnt, sondern zunächst vermietet hat. A hat die Wohnung jedoch „im Jahr der Veräußerung und in den beiden vorangegangenen Jahren“ selbst genutzt. Denn er hat die Wohnung im Jahre 2015 und in den Jahren 2014 und 2013 – ununterbrochen – selbst genutzt. Nicht erforderlich ist, dass er die Wohnung während des gesamten Jahres 2013 selbst bewohnt hat. Denn die zweite Alternative der Steuerbefreiung enthält keine Voraussetzung, dass die Wohnung während dieser Jahre ausschließlich selbst genutzt worden sein muss. Die Selbstnutzung muss daher nicht die vollen drei Kalenderjahre vor der Veräußerung umfassen. Es muss sich aber um einen zusammenhängenden – ununterbrochenen – Zeitraum handeln. Daher greift die Steuerbefreiung nicht ein, wenn die Wohnung innerhalb dieses Zeitraums vermietet wird.

 

Berufliche Mitbenutzung

Nutzt der Steuerpflichtige einen Teil des Gebäudes für seine beruflichen Zwecke, etwa im Rahmen eines Gewerbebetriebs oder einer freiberuflichen Tätigkeit, gilt für diesen Teil die Steuerbefreiung nicht. Denn Voraussetzung ist die Nutzung zu eigenen Wohnzwecken. Dies gilt nach Ansicht der Finanzverwaltung auch dann, wenn er von seinem Wahlrecht nach § 8 EStDV Gebrauch gemacht und diesen Teil der Wohnung trotz der betrieblichen Nutzung nicht zum Betriebsvermögen genommen hat, weil er von untergeordneter Bedeutung ist (Der Wert des eigenbetrieblichen Grundstücksteils beträgt nicht mehr als ein Fünftel des Wertes des gesamten Grundstücks und nicht mehr als 20.500 €.)  Auch bei einem Arbeitnehmer gilt die Steuerbefreiung nicht, soweit er die Wohnung als Arbeitszimmer nutzt. Denn auch insoweit dient die Wohnung nicht zu Wohnzwecken. Dies gilt nach Ansicht der Finanzverwaltung auch dann, wenn die Aufwendungen für das Arbeitszimmer gemäß § 4 Abs. 5 Nr. 6 b EStG vom Abzug als Werbungskosten ausgeschlossen sind. 

Mitbenutzung durch andere Personen

Eine Selbstnutzung liegt vor, wenn der Eigentümer die Wohnung 

  • alleine,
  • mit seinen Familienangehörigen oder
  • mit Dritten 

gemeinsam bewohnt.

Beispiel

A hat am 22. August 2010 eine Eigentumswohnung gekauft und am 7. Juli 2015 wieder verkauft. Die Wohnung hat er gemeinsam mit seiner Lebensgefährtin bewohnt. Der Gewinn aus der Veräußerung ist steuerfrei, weil A die gesamte Wohnung – auch – selbst bewohnt hat.

Zeitweise Nutzung

Eine Nutzung zu eigenen Wohnzwecken liegt auch dann vor, wenn die Wohnung von dem Eigentümer nur zeitweise zu eigenen Wohnzwecken genutzt wird, ihm in der übrigen Zeit jedoch zu Wohnzwecken zur Verfügung steht. Daher gelten auch Wohnungen, die im Rahmen einer doppelten Haushaltsführung genutzt werden, als selbstgenutzt. Das Gleiche gilt für Ferienwohnungen, die nicht zur Vermietung bereitgehalten, sondern ausschließlich selbst genutzt werden. 

Unentgeltliche Überlassung

Eine unentgeltliche Überlassung der Wohnung stellt nur dann eine Selbstnutzung dar, wenn die Wohnung einem Kind überlassen wird, für das der Eigentümer Anspruch auf Kindergeld oder den Freibetrag nach § 32 Abs. 6 EStG hat. Gemäß § 32 Abs. 4 EStG wird ein Kind allenfalls bis zur Vollendung des 25. Lebensjahres berücksichtigt.

Beispiel

A wohnt mit seiner Familie in Stuttgart. Als sein Sohn nach Konstanz zieht, um dort zu studieren, kauft A im Jahre 2013 eine Eigentumswohnung, die er seinem Sohn unentgeltlich überlässt. Am 22. August 2015 verkauft A diese Wohnung wieder. Der Veräußerungsgewinn ist steuerfrei, weil A für seinen Sohn einen Anspruch auf Kindergeld hat. Zu berücksichtigen ist insofern, dass Kinder höchstes bis zur Vollendung des 25. Lebensjahres berücksichtigt werden und dass die Sonderbehandlung der Nutzungsüberlassung an Kinder in dem Augenblick endet, in dem der Anspruch auf Kindergeld entfällt. Hätte A seinem Sohn die Wohnung vermietet, wäre der Veräußerungsgewinn steuerpflichtig. In diesem Fall hätte A aber die Kosten für die Wohnung wie insbesondere die Schuldzinsen und die AfA als Werbungskosten geltend machen können.

 

  

VRFG a.D. Hans-Joachim Beck

Rechtsberater Referat Steuern/IVD

 

Rechtlicher Hinweis: Dieser Beitrag ist rechtlich unverbindlich und stellt keine haftungsauslösende Steuer- oder Rechtsberatung dar. Für belastbare Informationen in Ihrem konkreten Einzelfall stehen Ihnen zwecks Beratung berufene Rechtsanwälte und/oder Steuerberater zur Verfügung.

 

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

AirBnB-Urteil zum Zweckentfremdungsgesetz

Seit 2014 gibt es in Berlin das sogenannte Zweckentfremdungsgesetz. Ziel des Gesetzes ist es, den Gebrauch von Wohnungen nur im Rahmen einer gewöhnlichen Wohnungsnutzung zu gewährleisten. Damit soll verhindert werden, dass Wohnungen dem normalen Mietmarkt entzogen werden und Mieter leichter eine Wohnung finden.

Weiterlesen

Immobilieneigentum: Andere Länder, andere Sitten

Der deutsche Wohnungsmarkt ist seit einigen Jahren in den Mittelpunkt von Diskussionen gerückt. Hohe Preise und Mieten sind der Anlass für Aufregung oder gar Empörung. Für die Politik ist Wohnen zur sozialen Frage unserer Zeit geworden. Wie machen es die anderen? Kann Deutschland von seinen Nachbarn lernen?

Weiterlesen

Den richtigen Mieter für Ihre Berliner Wohnung finden.

Sie besitzen eine Immobilie und suchen nach einem neuen Mieter für Ihre Berliner Wohnung? Oder vielleicht sind Sie einfach neugierig auf die Schritte, die man als Vermieter unternehmen muss, wenn ein neuer Mieter in die Wohnung einziehen soll? Wie filtert man die Bewerber? ADEN IMMOBILIEN beleuchtet die wichtigsten Fragen und Checks, die Sie vor dem Abschluss eines Mietvertrages durchführen sollten.

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Mathilde Allemand

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienmaklerin

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmaklerin

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Kundenmanagement

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Immobilienberater

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Geschäftsführer

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Geschäftsführer

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmakler

+49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Immobilienmaklerin

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com