The future is home working

We cannot yet predict with any certainty which of the changes wrought by the pandemic will remain once it recedes from our everyday lives. One thing that is certain, however, it that working from home has fundamentally changed the world of work as well as the way we live.

Owing to the stricter pandemic regulations in May 2021, the number of people working from home increased further. The majority of employees appreciate this opportunity and wish to continue making use of it even after the pandemic.

For employers, flexible work arrangements have become a competitive factor. This has been revealed in the most recent survey conducted by the Bavarian Research Institute for Digital Transformation. The tightening of the pandemic regulations inspired the institute to study the prevalence and acceptance of home working. The short, representative survey complements three earlier surveys on the topic of home working and makes it possible to analyse trends during the coronavirus pandemic.

  • • In May 2021, 52 per cent of employees were working from home at least occasionally; 46 per cent were working from home several days a week. The frequent home-workers were working from home full-time.
  • working from home full-time. The majority of those surveyed wish to continue to widely utilise the potential of home working after the coronavirus pandemic. Around 55 per cent of those surveyed wish to have the opportunity to work from home at least occasionally.
  • Around 72 per cent of employees whose job currently allows for home working regard the offer to work from home as an important factor when applying for a new role in future.

Whether or not working from home becomes a routine part of life in future depends on the individual’s living situation. They need enough workspace in the home, a fast internet connection, modern communication technology and, not least, reliable political framework conditions, ranging from childcare to affordable housing costs.

Legal note: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please have the facts of your specific individual case clarified by a lawyer and/or tax advisor.

Photo: © Elchinator, Pixabay

Tenants and owners: two different forms of housing, two unequal groups

Housing is a social issue. Pekka Sagner, economist for housing policy and property economics at the German Economic Institute, has analysed the difference between tenants and owners, the effects of the housing market and the different benefits and drawbacks associated with these two forms of housing.

Read more

Finding the right tenant for your Berlin apartment

You own property and you are looking for a new tenant for your Berlin apartment? Or perhaps you are simply curious about the steps taken by landlords to screen and select new residents? ADEN IMMOBILIEN covers key questions and checks to be conducted before signing a rental contract.

Read more

Airbnb verdict on the Repurposing Act

Since 2014, the so-called Repurposing Act (Zweckentfremdungsgesetz) has been in force in Berlin. The aim of this legislation is to ensure that apartments are used for standard tenancies only. This is to prevent apartments from being withdrawn from the conventional rental accommodation market and to make it easier for tenants to find housing.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Michael Bautz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com