Property ownership: different countries, different customs

The German housing market has been a hot topic of discussion for several years now. People are frustrated by, and even outraged at, the high prices and rents. For policy-makers, housing has become the social issue of our time. How do other countries deal with this? Can Germany learn from its neighbours? The German Economic Institute in Cologne went in search of answers to this question. It examined the ways in which seven different European countries help their citizens onto the property ladder. Alongside attitudes to property ownership, the Institute also analysed how these countries deal with property transfer tax, how they handle the taxation of owner-occupied property and what kind of funding support is available.

In terms of property transfer tax, the examined countries take two different approaches. Especially the Scandinavian countries as well as Ireland and the Netherlands have particularly low rates of property transfer taxation. Although Great Britain, Belgium and France have somewhat higher rates, they take a sliding-scale approach, support first-time property buyers, offer tax allowances or use a progressive tariff. A tax allowance and progressive tariff on property transfer tax provides financial relief to householders buying small and low-cost homes.

In Germany, owner-occupied property is taxed in the same way as consumer goods, whereas rented property is treated as an investment asset. This puts many owner-occupied households at a disadvantage. In the Netherlands, Sweden and Denmark, owner-occupiers can claim tax relief on their interest charges. Germany should therefore redress the balance for owner-occupied households to prevent them being at a disadvantage compared to buy-to-let owners. The countries included in the analysis also offer low-interest-rate mortgages or loan-insurance policies to support households in funding their property purchases.

In neighbouring countries, home ownership is regarded as the epitome of social advancement. It plays an important role in personal wealth creation and helps prevent old-age poverty.

Legal note: This article does not constitute tax or legal advice in individual cases. Please have the facts of your specific individual case clarified by a lawyer and/or tax advisor.

Photo: © Michael van der Vegt, Pixabay

Finding the right tenant for your Berlin apartment

You own property and you are looking for a new tenant for your Berlin apartment? Or perhaps you are simply curious about the steps taken by landlords to screen and select new residents? ADEN IMMOBILIEN covers key questions and checks to be conducted before signing a rental contract.

Read more

Calculating the statute of limitations for capital gains

In Germany, the sale of privately owned property is generally not subject to tax. However, there are some fundamental exceptions that result in tax liabilities on the capital gains made on the sale of property belonging to private individuals. We are continually asked by our customers as to when the sale of a property or plot of land is tax-free.

Read more

Ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied apartments

The coalition government has agreed a compromise on the Building Land Mobilisation Act. This draft legislation came into force on 23 June 2021. This marked the introduction of the controversial ban on converting rental accommodation into
owner-occupied apartments in regions with a strained housing market.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Michael Bautz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com