THE BERLIN RENT CAP HAS BEEN OVERTURNED AND DECLARED UNCONSTITUTIONAL. WHAT DOES THIS MEAN FOR CURRENT AND FUTURE CONTRACTS?

The Berlin rent cap’s undesirable impacts are serious. One year into the rent cap, our website had drawn its own conclusions and examined the issue from multiple viewpoints (.LINK).

After the rent cap was overturned by the German Federal Constitutional Court, we received a large number of questions regarding the new situation. We took your questions to attorney Nils Holger Bayer.

Mr Bayer is an attorney (Rechtsanwalt) in Berlin and Avocat à la Cour de Paris. He advises French clients on German law and German clients on French law, with a particular focus on the acquisition and sale of real property.

L. Drewes:
Hello, Mr Bayer. I am so pleased at the opportunity to sit down and discuss this with you. Could you please briefly explain the developments in the legal situation since the rent cap was enacted?

N. H. Bayer:
The Berlin Residential Rent Cap Act (Gesetz zur Mietenbegrenzung im Wohnungswesen in Berlin, sometimes abbreviated as ‘MietenWoG Bln’), colloquially referred to as the ‘Berlin rent cap’ came into force on 23 February 2020. The law affected some 1.5 million properties in Berlin. It temporarily limited both the amount of rent to be contractually agreed as well as rent increases. Rents would not have been allowed to increase again before 2022, and by no more than 1.3%, in line with the rate of inflation. According to the Act, rents for Berlin residences built before 2014 were frozen in February 2020 at their June 2019 level. In addition, since November 2020, landlords have been required to reduce rents that were more than 20% above the limits specified in the rent cap. Fines of up to EUR 500,000 have been levied in the event of infringement. The rent cap did not apply to newly built properties completed from 2014 onwards and was limited to five years, i.e. until 2025.

The Act was highly controversial, both from a political and a legal point of view. Tenants have been advised to be prepared for landlords to demand back payment in the event the Act is found to be unconstitutional.

L. Drewes:
Although most experts did consider the rent cap unconstitutional from the outset, it has been in effect for over a year and has created a great deal of legal uncertainty – for everyone. This is also evident from the fact that even the politicians responsible for the law have advised tenants to save the amount saved on rent and not to spend it.

But how has the German Federal Constitutional Court now ruled on the rent cap?

N. H. Bayer:
On 15 April 2021, the German Federal Constitutional Court ruled that the Berlin Rent Cap Act was unconstitutional for lack of legislative powers by the State of Berlin (German Federal Constitutional Court ruling of 15 April 2021 in the matter of – 2 BvF 1/20 – 2 BvL 4/20 – 2 BvL 5/20).
The grounds for this decision lie in the fact that legislative powers in the Federal Republic of Germany are divided between the federal government and the individual German states (Länder) by Germany’s constitution (Grundgesetz, or ‘Basic Law’), and regulations on rent levels do not fall within the legislative jurisdiction of the states. Instead, pursuant to Article 74 Paragraph 1(1) of the Basic Law, the federal government is responsible for such matters and, in the opinion of the German Federal Constitutional Court, the federal government has already exhausted its powers on this matter in concurrent legislation, specifically Sections 556 to 561 of the German Civil Code (Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch).

L. Drewes:
That means the German Federal Constitutional Court has overturned the Berlin Residential Rent Cap Act because the state of Berlin is not authorised to make laws regarding rent levels, only the federal government is. So, the German Federal Constitutional Court has now declared the rent cap null and void. What does that mean going forward?

N. H. Bayer:
Being declared null and void means the rent cap must be considered non-existent. From a legal point of view that means that the invalidity also has a retroactive effect on the period prior to the decision of the German Federal Constitutional Court, since the Act is considered invalid from the outset.

L. Drewes:
So you have to consider the situation as if there had never been a rent cap in the first place. Does that also mean that tenants will need to pay the rent as if the cap had never been put in place?

N. H. Bayer:
Exactly. Underpaid rent now needs to be calculated for past periods and paid to the landlord. The amount owed is equal to the difference between the rent amount calculated according to the German Civil Code and that calculated under the Berlin Rent Cap Act.

L. Drewes:
So the rent that was agreed in contracts concluded before the rent cap came into force now applies again. The reduced rent must be repaid in full for the entire period. But what about contracts concluded after 23 February 2020 or in other words contracts originally concluded under the rent cap.

N. H. Bayer:
In many cases, the parties had already included clauses in these contracts regarding the possibility of the Act being declared unconstitutional. These clauses often included what is known as a ‘shadow rent’ (‘Schattenmiete’). The parties would determine what rental price would apply under the tenancy agreement in the event the rent cap was declared unconstitutional. Were this to happen, as it now has, the amount of rent arrears results directly from the contract. This means that the amount owed can be readily determined and is payable immediately.

L. Drewes:
And what about rent increases that had been contractually agreed but could not be implemented? For example, in the case of graduated tenancy agreements?

N. H. Bayer:
If rent increases were initially stipulated in the contract but not implemented as a result of the rent cap, the subsequent payment amount that has now taken retroactive effect is calculated as the difference between the capped rent amount and the amount that would have had to be paid in line with the contractually agreed rent increases.

L. Drewes:
So again, the contract can be enforced retroactively and the tenant will have to pay the difference from the amount they would have had to pay had the Act never been enacted.

How do I currently go about setting a rental price or increase? We do have a rent index, which is now considered valid again. However, the 2019 rent index is set to expire in May 2021. What’s the situation here?

N. H. Bayer:
In terms of the current provisions, uncertainties may remain in the wake of this new jurisprudence by the German Federal Constitutional Court since the State of Berlin has so far failed to adjust the rent index according to the regular two-year cycle. As a result, it is difficult to establish an upper limit for rent levels currently permitted for new tenancy agreements and rent increases.

Until this rent index adjustment is published and enters into force, a comparable rental price typical of the local area must be set in the absence of an up-to-date, qualified rent index when renewing tenancies. It is necessary to determine the comparable level of rent typical of the local area when renewing tenancies because residential tenancy renewals in areas with a tight housing market may not exceed comparative local rent levels by more than ten per cent.

In this respect, the soon-to-be expiring 2019 rent index can help property owners set rental prices. For the purpose of determining the comparative rent, the tenant is entitled under Section 556 g (3) German Civil Code to be provided with the information necessary to determine the comparative rent, which the landlord may obtain without difficulty, i.e. with reasonable effort. This includes, for example, the previous rental price.

Despite all this, the parties will be able to roughly determine the comparative rent until a new qualified rent index comes into force. Between May 2019 and January 2021, the consumer price index increased by about one per cent, and that’s probably the direction comparative rents will move. This would be an easy calculation for all parties involved.

Incidentally, Berlin is also working on the new rent index, which is expected to be made available as early as May.

L. Drewes:
This means that we can currently use the 2019 rent index to re-calculate rents, and that properties can be let at a maximum of ten per cent above the calculated amount. It is unclear whether and when exactly the new rent index will enter into force. In any case, it should be increased in line with the purchase price index.

What is clear is that the 2019 rent index will expire at the end of May.

N. H. Bayer:
Accordingly, everything will stay the same for now. In that sense, the legal situation is identical to the situation before the rent cap came into force. Only the comparative rent is expected to increase, by around one per cent.

However, those who have not included any ‘shadow rent’ increases in tenancy agreements concluded after the rent cap came into force will not be eligible for reimbursement of rental income losses by the State of Berlin or by the tenant since they were not prohibited from agreeing such a ‘shadow rent’. If rent increases had already been agreed previously, however, the landlord may now invoke them.

L. Drewes:
This means that only what has already been contractually agreed applies. If you simply complied with the Act when you entered into the contract, this cannot be changed retroactively. Whatever has not been contractually agreed cannot be claimed retroactively.

N. H. Bayer:
At no time could we seriously assume the legality of the Berlin rent cap since comparable rent caps in other German states had already been declared unconstitutional on the grounds that the states in question did not have the legislative power to enact such laws. Lawmakers who pass blatantly unlawful legislation also fail to create a robust protection of legitimate expectation, which could lead to claims for damages. Government liability suits are unlikely to be successful here.

L. Drewes:
I see. What do you think the near future holds?

N. H. Bayer:
The legal uncertainties that have temporarily hampered investment have now been eliminated, which should help ensure a market revival. Low-cost rents in prime locations will likely not be available for the time being. It remains for the federal legislature to take even more drastic measures to facilitate less affluent tenants being able to continue to live in inner cities. However, this can only work in conjunction with state policy, regardless of legal issues. This requires the speedy approval of large-scale, mixed-income housing projects, combining luxury, middle-class and social housing. And investors in Berlin are also lining up for these kinds of opportunities. At this point, the Berlin authorities responsible can help ease pressure on the housing market by issuing permits in a timely manner for the benefit of all. Until then, tenants will continue to face rent increases.

L. Drewes:
You’re completely correct on that score. It will only work if everyone involved pulls together and key investors are allowed to act. We are facing an extraordinary election year in Germany, and we will soon elect a new government on both the federal and state level (in Berlin). Housing is a key issue in these election campaigns. It remains to be seen how voters will decide and which measures will find their way into a coalition agreement.

Mr Bayer, thank you for this enlightening conversation. I’m certain it will be a great help for our clients. I am looking forward to continuing our cooperation in helping our clients with their property purchases.




Nils Holger Bayer
German & French Law Office NH BAYER
Tel: + 49 30 30 88 18 67
E-mail: bayer@nhbayer.de
www.nhbayer.de

Portrait Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes
ADEN Immobilien
Partner/Head of Sales
Tel: + 49 30 61 67 51 15
E-mail: contact@aden-immo.com
www.aden-immo.com

Legal notice: This article is not legally binding and does not constitute tax or legal advice that could give rise to liability. For reliable information in your specific, individual case, please contact the attorneys or accountants appointed to advise you.

Title Photo: © andreyuu/Depositphotos.com

Bewerten Sie jetzt Ihre Immobilie!

Kostenfrei | Unverbindlich

Airbnb verdict on the Repurposing Act

Since 2014, the so-called Repurposing Act (Zweckentfremdungsgesetz) has been in force in Berlin. The aim of this legislation is to ensure that apartments are used for standard tenancies only. This is to prevent apartments from being withdrawn from the conventional rental accommodation market and to make it easier for tenants to find housing.

Read more

Ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied properties

In implementation of the coalition agreement, the ban on converting rental accommodation into owner-occupied properties is now being redrafted. The first draft raised many questions and was roundly criticised. Many owners of apartment buildings are now understandably worried that they are no longer free to do with their property as they see fit. Dividing their property up into owner-occupied apartments will only be possible subject to restrictions.

Read more

One year of frozen rents – the consequences of the rent cap

The effects of the rent cap are keeping us occupied on a daily basis. The figures speak for themselves. The number of rental properties on the market has gone down drastically. Prospective tenants are having a harder time than ever finding accommodation. A so-called “shadow rental price” has arisen, designed to compensate for the legal uncertainty. Yet despite all its consequences, Berlin’s rent cap is not achieving its intended purpose. There has been no relaxation of the city’s property market. Quite the opposite, in fact.

Read more

OUR TEAM

with passion for service

Mathilde Allemand

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Junior Project Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 mathilde.allemand@aden-immo.com

Michael Bautz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Head of Sales

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Client Management

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Senior Project Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Office ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

Managing Director

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing & Business Development

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Office ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Managing Director

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

Marketing Manager

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Julian Strehblow

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 220 66 11 77 julian.strehblow@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Office ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

Real Estate Agent

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com

Der Berliner Mietendeckel wurde für verfassungswidrig erklärt. Was bedeutet das für laufende und zukünftige Verträge?

Die unerwünschten Auswirkungen des Berliner Mietendeckels sind gravierend. Wir hatten auf unserer Website ein Fazit nach einem Jahr Mietendeckel gezogen und die Thematik aus verschiedenen Richtungen beschrieben (LINK).

Nachdem der Mietendeckel vom Bundesverfassungsgericht gekippt wurde, erreichten uns viele Fragen bzgl. der neuen Situation. Wir haben uns über Ihre Fragen mit Rechtsanwalt Nils Holger Bayer unterhalten.

Herr Bayer ist Rechtsanwalt in Berlin und Avocat à la Cour de Paris und berät französische Mandanten im deutschen sowie deutsche Mandanten im französischen Recht, insbesondere auch beim Erwerb und Verkauf von Immobilien.

L. Drewes:
Hallo Herr Bayer, ich freue mich über die Möglichkeit dieses Gesprächs. Können Sie uns kurz erläutern, wie sich die rechtliche Situation seit Inkrafttreten des Mietendeckels entwickelt hat?

N. H. Bayer:
Das Gesetz zur Mietenbegrenzung im Wohnungswesen in Berlin „MietenWoG Bln“ und umgangs- sprachlich der „Berliner Mietendeckel“ ist am 23.02.2020 in Kraft getreten. Das Gesetz betraf ca. 1,5 Millionen Wohnungen in Berlin. Es begrenzte sowohl die zu vereinbarende Miethöhe zeitlich befristet als auch Erhöhungen. Erst ab dem Jahr 2022 hätten die Mieten wieder steigen dürfen und das gem. der Inflationsrate höchstens um 1,3 %. Ausweislich des Gesetzes sind Mieten für Berliner Wohnungen, die vor dem Jahr 2014 erbaut worden sind, im Februar 2020 auf dem Stand von Juni 2019 eingefroren worden. Auch bestand seit November 2020 die Pflicht, Mieten, die über 20 % oberhalb der im Mietendeckel bestimmten Grenzen lagen, abzusenken. Für den Fall der Zuwiderhandlung wurden Bußgelder bis zu EUR 500.000 vorgesehen. Der Mietendeckel galt nicht für neue Wohnungen, die von 2014 an fertiggestellt worden waren und war auf fünf Jahre befristet, also bis 2025.

Das Gesetz war politisch wie rechtlich hoch umstritten, sodass Mietern angeraten worden ist, für den Fall der Verfassungswidrigkeit des Mietdeckelgesetzes auf Nachzahlungsforderungen der Vermieter vorbereitet zu sein.

L. Drewes:
Obwohl der Mietendeckel für die meisten Experten von Anfang an verfassungswidrig war, ist es über ein Jahr lang in Kraft gewesen und hat für eine große Rechtsunsicherheit gesorgt – auf allen Seiten. Dies kann man auch daran erkennen, dass selbst die verantwortliche Politik den Mietern empfohlen hat, die einbehaltene Miete zu sparen und nicht auszugeben.

Aber wie hat nun das Bundesverfassungsgericht über den Mietendeckel entschieden?

N. H. Bayer:
Am 15. April 2021 hat das Bundesverfassungsgericht die Verfassungswidrigkeit des Berliner Mietendeckelgesetzes mangels Gesetzgebungskompetenz des Landes Berlin festgestellt (Bundesverfassungsgerichtsbeschluss vom 15. April 2021 in Sachen – 2 BvF 1/20 – 2 BvL 4/20 – 2 BvL 5/20).
Grund hierfür ist, dass die Gesetzgebungskompetenzen in der föderalen Bundesrepublik nach dem Grundgesetz zwischen dem Bund und den Ländern aufgeteilt sind und Regelungen der Miethöhe nicht in die Kompetenz der Bundesländer fallen. Zuständig ist nach Art. 74 Abs. 1 Nummer 1 Grundgesetz vielmehr der Bund und dieser habe nach der Auffassung des Bundesverfassungsgerichts von seiner Zuständigkeit im Bereich dieser konkurrierenden Gesetzgebungszuständigkeit bereits abschließend Gebrauch gemacht, nämlich in den §§ 556 bis 561 des Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuchs.

L. Drewes:
Damit hat also das Bundesverfassungsgericht das Berliner Gesetz gekippt, weil Berlin keine Gesetze bzgl. der Miethöhe machen darf, sondern nur der Bund. Das Bundesverfassungsgericht hat den Mietendeckel nun für nichtig erklärt. Was heißt das?

N. H. Bayer:
Diese Nichtigkeit bedeutet, dass der Mietendeckel als nichtexistent anzusehen ist. Daraus folgt rechtlich, dass sich die Wirkung der Nichtigkeit auch auf Zeiträume bezieht, die vor der Entscheidung des Bundesverfassungsgerichts liegen, da das Gesetz von Beginn an als unwirksam gilt.

L. Drewes:
Man muss also alles so betrachten, als wäre der Mietendeckel nie dagewesen. Das heißt auch, die Miete muss gezahlt werden, als hätte es den Mietendeckel nie gegeben?

N. H. Bayer:
Genau. Zu wenig bezahlte Miete muss für zurückliegende Zeiträume folglich berechnet und an den Vermieter gezahlt werden. Die Höhe dieser besteht aus der Differenz der Miethöhe, die sich aus dem BGB und jener, die sich aus dem Mietendeckel errechnet, ergibt.

L. Drewes:
Also gilt die Miete wieder, die in den Verträgen vereinbart wurde, die vor dem Mietendeckel abgeschlossen wurden. Die abgesenkte Miete muss vollständig für den gesamten Zeitraum zurückgezahlt werden. Aber was ist mit den Verträgen, die nach dem 23.02.2020 und gem. Mietendeckel abgeschlossen wurden?

N. H. Bayer:
In vielen Fällen hatten die Vertragsparteien die Eventualität der Verfassungswidrigkeit bereits zum Vertragsgegenstand gemacht. Mit der sogenannten Schattenmiete hatten die Parteien festgelegt, welche Miethöhe nach Mietvertrag gilt, falls der Mietendeckel für verfassungswidrig erklärt würde. In einem solchen Fall ergibt sich der Mietnachzahlungsbetrag folglich direkt aus dem Vertrag. Er ist ohne Weiteres ermittelbar und sofort zur Zahlung fällig.

L. Drewes:
Und wie sieht es mit Mieterhöhungen aus, die vertraglich vereinbart waren, aber nicht durchgeführt werden konnten? Also zum Beispiel bei Staffelmietverträgen?

N. H. Bayer:
Sind Mieterhöhungen zunächst vertraglich vorgesehen, aber infolge des Mietendeckels nicht umgesetzt worden, bestimmt sich der nunmehr rückwirkend wirksam gewordene Nachzahlungsbetrag aus der Differenz der gedeckelten Mietzinshöhe und jener, die der Erhöhung entsprechend zu zahlen gewesen wäre.

L. Drewes:
Also kann auch hier der Vertrag wieder rückwirkend geltend gemacht werden und der Mieter muss die Differenz zahlen, die er hätte zahlen müssen, wenn das Gesetz nie dagewesen wäre.

Wie bestimme ich denn derzeit eine Miete bzw. eine Erhöhung? Wir haben ja einen Mietspiegel, der nun wieder gültig ist. Allerdings läuft der Mietspiegel 2019 im Mai 2021 aus. Wie sieht es hier aus?

N. H. Bayer:
Was die aktuelle Mietzinsbestimmung anbelangt, verbleiben nach der Rechtsprechung des Bundesverfassungsgerichts gegebenenfalls Unsicherheiten, da es das Land Berlin bislang unterlassen hat, den normalerweise alle zwei Jahre neu veröffentlichten Mietspiegel turnusmäßig anzupassen. Infolgedessen ist die Bestimmung einer Obergrenze der aktuell zulässigen Miethöhe bei Neuvermietungen und Mieterhöhungen erschwert.

Bis zu dessen Veröffentlichung und Inkrafttreten gilt bei Wiedervermietungen, dass die ortsübliche Vergleichsmiete ohne aktuellen qualifizierten Mietspiegel ermittelt werden muss. Der Ermittlung der ortsüblichen Vergleichsmiete bedarf es bei Wiedervermietungen deshalb, weil die Wiedervermietung von Wohnungen in Gebieten mit einem angespannten Wohnungsmarkt die ortsübliche Vergleichsmiete maximal um 10 % überschreiten darf.

Der auslaufende Mietspiegel von 2019 stellt insoweit eine Ermittlungshilfe dar. Zwecks Ermittlung der Vergleichsmiete hat der Mieter gegen den Vermieter zudem gemäß § 556 g Absatz. 3 BGB Anspruch darauf, dass ihm die zur Ermittlung notwendigen Informationen, die der Vermieter unschwer, also mit verhältnismäßigem Aufwand beschaffen kann, mitgeteilt werden. Dazu gehört etwa auch die Höhe der Vormiete.

Trotz alledem wird es den Mietvertragsparteien bis zur Geltung eines neuen qualifizierten Mietspiegels in etwa möglich sein, die Vergleichsmiete zu ermitteln. Zwischen Mai 2019 und Januar 2021 hat sich der Verbraucherpreisindex um etwa ein Prozent erhöht und in diese Richtung werden sich wohl die Vergleichsmieten bewegen. Das wäre für alle Vertragsparteien einfach zu berechnen.

Im Übrigen arbeitet Berlin am neuen Mietspiegel und es wird aktuell damit gerechnet, dass dieser Anschlussmietspiegel bereits im Mai vorliegen wird.

L. Drewes:
Somit können wir derzeit anhand des Mietspiegels 2019 die Mieten wieder berechnen und die Wohnung mit maximal 10 % über dem ermittelten Wert vermieten. Ob und wann genau der neue Mietspiegel inkraft tritt, ist unklar. Er soll jedenfalls um den Kaufpreisindex erhöht sein.

Klar ist, der Mietspiegel 2019 läuft Ende Mai aus.

N. H. Bayer:
Danach bleibt folglich alles beim Alten, d. h. die Rechtslage ist mit jener, die vor dem Mietendeckel galt, identisch. Lediglich die Vergleichsmiete wird um rund ein Prozent steigen.

Wer aufgrund des Mietendeckels keine Schattenmieterhöhungen im Mietvertrag ausgewiesen hat, wird seine Mietausfälle wegen unterlassener Mietzinserhöhungsvereinbarung seit Inkrafttreten des Mietendeckels allerdings nicht im Nachhinein vom Land Berlin oder vom Mieter erstattet erhalten können, da es ihm nicht verboten war, eine Schattenmiete zu vereinbaren. Waren bereits zuvor Mietzinserhöhungen vereinbart, kann sich der Vermieter hingegen darauf berufen.

L. Drewes:
Das bedeutet, dass nur vertraglich bereits Vereinbartes gilt. Wenn man sich schlicht an das Gesetz gehalten hat, als man den Vertrag abgeschlossen hat, kann dies nicht rückwirkend geändert werden. Was nicht vertraglich vereinbart wurde, kann nicht rückwirkend eingefordert werden.

N. H. Bayer:
Von der Rechtmäßigkeit des Berliner Mietendeckels konnte eigentlich zu keiner Zeit ernsthaft ausgegangen werden, da vergleichbare Mietendeckel in anderen Bundesländern mangels entsprechender Gesetzgebungskompetenz des jeweiligen Landes bereits für verfassungswidrig erklärt worden waren. Wer offenkundig rechtswidrige Gesetze verabschiedet, erzeugt auch keinen belastbaren Vertrauensschutz, der Schadenersatzansprüche generieren könnte. Staatshaftungsklagen dürften in diesem Zusammenhang kaum erfolgversprechend sein.

L. Drewes:
Verstehe. Was denken Sie, wie gestaltet sich die nahe Zukunft?

N. H. Bayer:
Rechtsunsicherheiten, die zwischenzeitlich Investoren gehemmt haben, sind nunmehr beseitigt und dürften für eine Wiederbelebung des Marktes sorgen. Günstige Mieten in besten Lagen fallen wohl erst einmal weg. Es bleibt dem Bundesgesetzgeber vorbehalten, noch einschneidendere Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um weniger wohlhabenden Mietern auch weiterhin ein Leben in den Innenstädten zu ermöglichen. Das kann aber nur im Zusammenspiel mit der Landespolitik funktionieren, unabhängig von Rechtsfragen. Voraussetzung dafür ist eine zügige Genehmigung von Wohnungsbaugroßvorhaben, die Luxus-, Sozialwohnungen und solche mittlere Güte in Großprojekten miteinander verbinden. Auch hierfür stehen Investoren in Berlin Schlange. An dieser Stelle können die zuständigen Berliner Behörden durch zeitnahe Genehmigungen zur Entspannung des Wohnungsmarktes beitragen und alle Seiten werden profitieren. Bis dahin werden die Mieter weiterhin mit Mietpreiserhöhungen rechnen müssen.

L. Drewes:
Da haben Sie vollkommen recht. Es geht nur, wenn alle Beteiligten an einem Strang ziehen und die notwendigen Investoren agieren dürfen. Nun haben wir ein Superwahljahr in Deutschland und sowohl auf Bundes- als auch auf Landesebene (Berlin) wird eine neue Regierung gewählt. Wohnen ist bei diesen Wahlkämpfen ein zentrales Thema. Es bleibt abzuwarten, wie der Wähler sich entscheidet und welche Maßnahmen den Weg in einen Koalitionsvertrag finden.

Herr Bayer, ich bedanke mich für diese aufschlussreiche Unterhaltung. Unseren Kunden ist damit sicherlich sehr geholfen. Ich freue mich auf eine weitere gute Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen der Kaufprozesse unserer Kunden.




Nils Holger Bayer
Deutsch-Französische Anwaltskanzlei NH Bayer
Tel: + 49 30 30 88 18 67
Mail: bayer@nhbayer.de
www.nhbayer.de

Portrait Lars Drewes

Lars Drewes
ADEN Immobilien
Gesellschafter/Head of Sales
Tel: + 49 30 61 67 51 15
Mail: contact@aden-immo.com
www.aden-immo.com

Rechtlicher Hinweis: Dieser Beitrag ist rechtlich unverbindlich und stellt keine haftungsauslösende Steuer- oder Rechtsberatung dar. Für belastbare Informationen in Ihrem konkreten Einzelfall stehen Ihnen zwecks Beratung berufene Rechtsanwälte und/oder Steuerberater zur Verfügung.

Foto Titel: © andreyuu/Depositphotos.com

Eine Wohnung in Berlin zur Miete finden

Berlin ist eine attraktive Stadt mit hoher Lebensqualität. ADEN IMMOBILIEN bietet viele Mietmöglichkeiten – von Single-Apartments bis zu großen Familienwohnungen. Wie können Sie sich also darauf vorbereiten, eine Wohnung in Berlin zur Miete zu finden? ADEN IMMOBILIEN gibt Ihnen einige Tipps, wie Sie nach Wohnungen suchen, Dokumente vorbereiten und mit dem Vermieter in Kontakt treten können.

Weiterlesen

Ein Jahr Mietendeckel: welche Folgen hat der Mietendeckel?

Die Auswirkungen des Mietendeckels beschäftigen uns tagtäglich. Die Zahlen sprechen für sich. Die Angebote an Mietwohnungen sind drastisch gesunken. Die Mietinteressenten finden schwerer denn je eine neue Bleibe. Es ist eine Schattenmiete entstanden, die die Rechtsunsicherheit ausgleichen soll. Doch mit all seinen Auswirkungen schafft der Berliner Mietendeckel nicht, was er schaffen sollte. Eine Entspannung auf dem Berliner Immobilienmarkt ist nicht eingetreten. Sondern das Gegenteil….

Weiterlesen

Umwandlungsverbot von Mehrfamilienhäusern in Eigentumswohnungen in Deutschland

Durch den Koalitionsvertrag beschlossen wird nun am Umwandlungsverbot gearbeitet. Der erste Entwurf hat viele Fragen aufgeworfen und Kritik erfahren müssen. Viele Besitzer eines Mehrfamilienhauses sind natürlich besorgt, dass sie mit ihrem Eigentum nicht mehr das machen dürfen, was sie möchten. Eine Aufteilung ihres Eigentums in Eigentumswohnungen wird nur noch unter Auflagen möglich sein.

Weiterlesen

UNSER TEAM

mit Leidenschaft dabei

Michael Bautz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 michael.bautz@aden-immo.com

Isabelle Goncalves

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 887 024 07 isabelle.goncalves@aden-immo.com

Lars Drewes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 lars.drewes@aden-immo.com

Robina Henicke

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 robina.henicke@aden-immo.com

Florence Holz

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 florence.holz@aden-immo.com

Annabel Huard

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 annabel.huard@aden-immo.com

Udo Lewin

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 udo.lewin@aden-immo.com

Olivier Montero

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Friedrichshain

+49 30 29 77 87 80 olivier.montero@aden-immo.com

David Nguyen

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIER
Paris Courcelles

+33 1 56 33 70 70 david.nguyen@aden-immo.com

Hélène Salvanes

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 helene.salvanes@aden-immo.com
Porträt Arnaud Schott_quadratisch

Arnaud Schott

Büro ADEN INVEST
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 23 633 533 arnaud.schott@aden-invest.com

Cihan Selmo

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 cihan.selmo@aden-immo.com

Ulrike Siebert

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Wilmersdorf

+49 30 88 70 24 08 ulrike.siebert@aden-immo.com

Jeannette Zentel-Schertlin

Büro ADEN IMMOBILIEN
Berlin Charlottenburg

+49 30 220 66 11 77 jeannette.zentel-schertlin@aden-immo.com